Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2 Rebuild Cost

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by Drey, Oct 17, 2004.

1. Drey

Drey 3/4 ton status

If any of you guys have rebuilt a 6.2 how much does it cost? New pistons, boring out(to 6.5 if anyone has done it?)new crank possibly and new gaskets. My motor is very screwed up, Ill leave it at the fact my harmonic balancer is moving enough to move the hell out of my fan belts when it is running.
    I have no experience rebuilding a motor myself, but between, me, my dad, and my friend andrew who is a tractor mechanic I think we could get it done. Although I am still considering taking it to a shop, because my dad isnt to thrilled about the idea of tieing up the shop for awhile...

2. AgDieseler

AgDieseler Certified Scrap Producer Premium Member GMOTM Winner

Let's make some assumptions:
    You do all the assembly yourself, your crank checks out and so does your cam, you replace lifters, pistons, all gaskets, all bearings, and you are just going back to stock specs on fuel delivery.

Expect to spend about $2500. That includes machining, and the cost of getting the IP and injectors rebuilt. Add a turbo to the project list, and the price goes up quickly.

Unless the last three digits on you block are 599, then you can't bore to a 6.5L. Stock bore is 3.98, and to get to the required 4.05 bore of a 6.5, you would have some serious problems with cylinder wall thickness. .030 over will get you up to 386 cubes, and that's more than enough to clean up most bores.

3. Diesel Dan

Diesel Dan 1/2 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    My motor is very screwed up, Ill leave it at the fact my harmonic balancer is moving enough to move the hell out of my fan belts when it is running.

[/ QUOTE ]