Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2-th350?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by steve_kibbe, Jul 4, 2006.

  1. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    Well, I am trying to piece together a rig for tellico next weekend, and it doesn't look good.
    I have a flex plate from a 6.2/700r4. I thought it would fit the th350 torque converter, but it does not.

    So my question, is there a flex plate out there that will let me bolt my 6.2 to the th350 torque converter?

    -Steve
     
  2. slyguy_22

    slyguy_22 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Posts:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lancaster, PA
    thats od my 89 had the 700r4 and i had a th350 with a shift kit built for it when i scattered the 700r4. bolted right in with no problem. just go buy a flywheel for a 350 gas motor and try that, there only like $35.00 at auto zone. if its not right take it back
     
  3. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    I think the diesel requires the balancing weight.
     
  4. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,553
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    not sure....

    I think the 6.2 has a unique crank bolt pattern all its own,if I remember correctly,so I doubt any gas ones will bolt up..not sure if its externally balanced or not..

    I think a 6.2 flexplate for a 700R4 will bolt up to a TH350,but one from a TH400 probably has only the "large" bolt circle for only the TH400 converter...The few 6.2's converters I've seen had 6 bolts on the converter instead of 3,to bolt it to the flexplate..but I've been told 3 out of six line up with a gasser's converter...:crazy:
     
  5. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    Well, I went to the parts house and got a flex plate that apears to have the correct bolt pattern, I searched for a 83 k20 and it found 2, one is what I already have, and the other has the right bolt pattern spacing. The one I already had came from a 89 1/2 2wd suburban with a 700r4.
    Tomorrow I'll make sure it bolts up, but I'm 99% sure it will:D

    I don't know why it had 2 listed, they never put the 700r4 in a 3/4, did they?
     
  6. diesel4me

    diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Posts:
    17,553
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Massachussetts
    seen some!

    I've seen a few 6.2's in 3/4 ton trucks with a 700R4,supposedly all unmolested original trucks too,1988 and a 1990...I'm unsure if GM did offer them that way or not..both trucks I saw them in were 6 lug, and were the lighter 7200 lb GVW...

    I'm thinking the early 6.2's with 700R4's used the same flexplate as a 350 Olds diesel did,they had TH350's behind them....the bolt pattern changed on the converter in later year 700R4's,the early ones were the same as a TH350...so there must be one flexplate that will bolt everything up!...:crazy:
     

Share This Page