Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2 won't start when warm

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by caliclunker, Feb 2, 2005.

1. caliclunker

caliclunker Registered Member

My beautiful blue and rust 83 Suburban 6.2 diesel won't start when warm. It will start fine if it's stone cold, and fine if it's fully warmed up, but if I stop and leave it for 20 minutes or so, the glow plugs don't come on and it won't start. If I sit and wait until the temp gauge gets down to about 100 the glow plugs finally kick in and then it fires right up. New glow plug controller, new glow plugs. It seems if I'm below about 150 on the temp gauge I have this problem. I'm new to diesels and am stumped. I suppose I could bypass the controller with a manual switch, but I'd like to figure out what's going on here. Any ideas?

2. kennyw

kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

If it is that warm it would not need glow plugs to start is the only reason they are not cycling on. The problem is most likely the injection pump solenoid getting weak. There are 3 positions on the injection pump. Full fuel (cold start mode), run (also warm start) and off. What is happening is the solenoid will go to full fuel to start it cold without problems, but when the motor is warm the solenoid is too weak to pull it out of the off position to the run position.

3. caliclunker

thanks! you're worth the membership fee here already, if it works. I will check that out tomorrow. Is there a way to test that, short of just putting in a new part?

4. BlueBlazer

BlueBlazer 1/2 ton status

You say it starts fine if fully warmed up, shut off, then restarted? If so, I would not worry about the injector pump for now. You need to focus on getting the GPs to work.