Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6.2's cold starting

Discussion in '1982-Present GM Diesel' started by 86dieselburb, Oct 26, 2004.

1. 86dieselburb

86dieselburb 1/2 ton status

6.2\'s cold starting

I recently got myself and 86 diesel burb. Is it normal for these things to be kinda hard to start when cold? I'm kinda new to this diesel stuff and am used to gassers that start right up first time. The overnight temps around here have been getting in the low 40's. The motor has 302K on it but seems to run great otherwise. I have been resorting to turning ignition wait till glow plug light goes out, push gas pedal half way and crank the motor. Seems it takes at minimum 3 tries before it comes to life. Think new glow plugs will help?

2. 6.2puller

6.2puller 1/2 ton status

Re: 6.2\'s cold starting

I have learned that their are a few keys to starting the 6.2L. One is glow plugs but an even more important one is cranking RPM. The stock starters are pretty weak. An older one is even weaker. When I got my truck it wouldn't start 50% of the time and I instantly thought glow plugs. (I was a gas guy getting his first diesel like you) Reading on here I saw the cranking RPM mentioned alot. I checked the amperage draw at my starter and it was way loaded up and not turning much. So starter replacement was in order prior to glow plugs. A little research on starters taught me that the 6.5L gear reduction starter is the way to go. It bolts on and gives you way more crank for your amp. After replacing that I only did the glow plugs because the looked as old as my truck. The truck started 100% with just the new starter.