Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

6" lift question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 86haubs, Jan 25, 2006.

1. 86haubs

86haubs 1/2 ton status

First off I want to say I am pretty new to 4WD's, but not new to mechanics. Okay so I have been looking at these 2 lifts for a while and I am not sure which one would be the better deal. I will not have much off road activity, mostly the beach, or light muddin'/crawlin'.
    1. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/73-91-Chevy-6-Lift-Kit-Pickup-Blazer-Jimmy-Suburban_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33585QQitemZ8032297986QQtcZphoto

2. http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/73-91-Chevy-6-Lift-Kit-Pickup-Blazer-Jimmy-Suburban_W0QQcmdZViewItemQQcategoryZ33585QQitemZ8032830854QQtcZphoto

Do I really need the extras in the 2nd lift or will I be fine with the 1st? I want to do it right and take not short cuts or half a$$ the lift. I plan on 35x12.5's.

Thanks in advance,
    Haubs

Last edited: Jan 25, 2006
  2. 86haubs

86haubs 1/2 ton status

bump!

3. neverendingproject

neverendingproject 1/2 ton status

well, add-a-leafs arent any good and neither are blocks, with that said, I think you should go 4" if this is coing to be a capable vehicle or get a 6" with rear springs or a shackle flip (adds 4") and 2 inch springs...

4. 86haubs

86haubs 1/2 ton status

Well I thought about both of those options but I am trying to lean towards cost effiective, especially because I will not be doing much wheelin', this is why I don't see a problem with blocks and add-a-leafs.

5. midnitewarya

midnitewarya Sounds like a problem for future me. Premium Member