Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

'69 K5 Blazer Lift ? Search button wore out

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Musclerodz, Jul 25, 2005.

1. Musclerodz

Musclerodz 1/2 ton status

After about 3 hours of searching old posts, I have a direction but still a few questions. I am new to building 4x4's so please bare with me.

I have a '69 K5 Blazer I am doing a ground up on that will be mainly a DD. The frame is just about ready to be sandblasted and will be powdercoated. I want a mild lift but nothing drastic. I would also like to run 33" tires. I realize a 4" lift is recommended, but I don't want to use a ladder to get it. I have just about made up my mind to run the ORD flip kit out back. My only concern is someone mentioned this was not good for towing. The only towing planned would be a small boat or jet ski's to the lake. Any major stuff will be handled by the 1 ton crewcab. Up front is really where my questions are.

I have found that there is not a lot of chioices when it comes to first gen lifts. I want this thing to sit level with the hard top and a slight rake with a soft top is fine. After reading everything on springs, I would like to run BDS but they don't list anything shorter than 4" for 69-72. If I run 4" up front, I am looking at a short block or zero level out back. That will equal around 6" taller than it is now and would require a step for me and especially the wife. I saw they have a 2.5" upfront for the 73 K5. What is the difference in lengths of the two springs? Plan "B" would be TC springs but I am not ready to give in yet.