Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700-R4 shift adjustment?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 88K5Jimmy, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. 88K5Jimmy

    88K5Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa OK
    Is there a way to adjust when a 700-R4 adjust from OUTSIDE the transmission...I mean without having to drop the pan? I installed a shift kit and it shifts a little higher from 1 to 2 in the rpm range then I would like.

    Anybody have any insight?

    Thanks
     
  2. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
  3. 88K5Jimmy

    88K5Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa OK
    Hey thanks for the article. The shift kit I bought had directions for re-adjusting the tv cable but it turns out that my tv cable bracket doesnt self adjust anymore like it should. So I self adjusted it and it shifts nice and crisp at a better rpm.

    Thanks
     
  4. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    hope you adjusted it properly, theres only one way and if you dont do it right then you can end up with tranny burning up and wont know it til its too late, with the 700r4's


    good luck
     
  5. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    glad to hear it :waytogo:
     
  6. digity

    digity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2004
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Brentwood Ca
    I need to do one myself. What kit did you go with and how do you like it?
     
  7. 88K5Jimmy

    88K5Jimmy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2001
    Posts:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tulsa OK
    I went with the B&M kit. I got it because my tranny was dropped and I needed a kit that was in town and didn't have to order. My main problem was that is shifted really sloppy between 3 and 4 after it had been on the highway for a while. Even in the city it would shift sloppy after it was warmed up. I would loose a little bit of momentum because of it. The first real test was today when I drove back to school and it shifted great. No slop like there was and it shifts nice and crisp in the city too.
     
  8. stockk5

    stockk5 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Posts:
    2,037
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Cromwell, CT
    how difficult is it to replace the detent cable cuz mine is making my gas pedal extremely hard to press, when i disconnect the detent cable from the carb then my throttle is like a normal throttle, it doesnt make your foot tired. So i really need to replace my cable soon, just wondering how involved it is to do so. thanks Mike
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    that link i posted earlier gives complete details...
     

Share This Page