Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700 r4 to t400 swap (pics)

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by wraenking, Mar 26, 2006.

  1. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    if you didnt see my post in the lounge, the bellhousing of my 700r4 cracked when i was wheeling.

    i found a turbo 400 out of91 gmc burb and went to look at it and take some pics today.

    guy said i can have everything i need for the swap for 250 bucks.

    truck is still running so when he is home i will drive it.

    what exactly do i need to take for the swap?

    right now, i have a sb 350, 700r4 /20? I forget which transfer case

    heres some pics (best i could get ) of the turbo 400 and transfer case

    DSCF0014.JPG

    DSCF0015.JPG

    DSCF0016.JPG

    DSCF0017.JPG

    DSCF0020.JPG
     
  2. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    That tcase isn't from a 91. The tag says it is a 208C 2.61 lowrange made in 1985. I would make sure that it is infact a TH400. I don't know them well enough and can't see from the pics to make sure that it is a TH400. A TH400 should have a pan shaped kinda like the state of Texas. Make sure that isnt a TH350.

    Harley
     
  3. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    oh greaqt. lol

    heres a pic of the rpo codes if we can tell if it even did have one

    DSCF0023.JPG
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,543
    Likes Received:
    539
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    th400 pan is shaped like texas. need kick down switch and wires from gaspedal with bracket bolted to pedel. then both drive shafts to make it easyer. also best get crossmember for tcase to frake as that one is short mount style and yours might be tall mount style. and 91 will be electric speedo vers your cable speedo. . is that your tcase or his. if his its not origanal as it says 85 ish for build date not anyware near the 90 or 91 the burb is. plus you need the vac line from intake to modulator. tcase shifter rod as it might be longer on the 400 than your combo you have now. and the indicator in the dash for the gear position will be 3 speed vers 4 speed now easy to change . that will be about it.

    p.s. the rpo sticker dont show g80 so no gov bom in rear end mostlikly .
     
  5. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    the rpo code from the glove box MX1 of of this page

    http://www.fl-thirdgen.org/rpo/rpo.html


    just says its a [FONT=Courier New, Courier, mono][SIZE=+1]MERCHANDISED, TRANS, AUTO PROVISIONS




    [/SIZE][/FONT]


    tex.jpg
     
  6. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    so are you saying this pan does look like texas from what you can see?

    and is the np208c bad to use in that setup?

    thanks
     
  7. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    looks like a 400 to me Tom.. Your definitely gonna wanna take the t-case, adapter, crossmember, shafts and torque rods too..
     
  8. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    rear shaft wont do me any good (suburban) and i dont think the front shaft was there. what are the torque rods?
     
  9. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    The rods that where missing on the current setup that run over to the motor..

    also, what gears did that 3/4 setup have? 4:10?
     
  10. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    ill find out after dinner. i have the rpo codes in a pic.
     
  11. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    nah, sorry, I meant the 3/4's currently in your truck.. 4:10's right?
     
  12. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    yeah. 4.10's


    those axles are also 4.10's just so ya know.
     
  13. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    alright, well, you need to keep that in mind going to a 400 cuz your losing that overdrive...

    don't have my gear calc link handy, but you should probably be at decent rpm's with 4:10's..

    and hey, keep me in mind if that rig has 3/4's available...
     
  14. mouse

    mouse 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2003
    Posts:
    1,448
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Great Falls Mt
    Pretty sure the 400 won't have a vacuum modulator. Thats a 350 thing.
     
  15. wraenking

    wraenking 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2003
    Posts:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toms River, NJ
    the 3/4 tons are available. and for the price im getting on everything for the tranny swap, im sure they are at a decent price. shall i ask and see what he says?
     
  16. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    yeah, check into it please and thanks...
     
  17. 79k20350

    79k20350 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Posts:
    7,757
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ct
    400's have a vacum modulator. Thats definelty a 400 tranny. also you need the gass pedal assembly. just get the whole thing its easier that way. this will have a kickdown on it (electrical kickdown) the vacum modulator controls upshifts. also you can loose the tv cable and setup fromm your 700r4
     
  18. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    There is nothing wrong with having a 208 in the setup, but I am just making light that it was not the stock tcase. The stock tcase should be a 241. The 241 is a little bit stronger overall then the 208 but not by much. The 241 can be swapped over to a SYE kit though which is nice for later use if you wanted to go that route.

    You probably don't want the 241 from a 91 unless your truck is a 91 because the 91 year model used an electric speedo setup instead of a mechanical. If your truck is a mech speedo then you can hook the mech speedo up off the 208 and have a working speedo.

    Harley
     
  19. roadnotca

    roadnotca 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2005
    Posts:
    5,433
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Redondo Beach, CA
    Maybe you guys know, has the trans case been tapped for the aly convertor cover? I thought only 700's had the struts.
     
  20. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    That could be, I've only had a 700 and 465...
     

Share This Page