Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700R/NP 205??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by LA Bogger, Mar 17, 2002.

  1. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    What does everybody think about running a 454 with a 700R and a 205? The reason I'm asking I like to keep the OD with my 39.5 and 4:88. I think rpm with a Turbo 400 would be a little high for a daily driver.

    Eat More Mud!!!
    350/700R/208/60/14/4:88/9"/39.5TSLs
     
  2. A&P

    A&P Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Posts:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    I think the ideal, if you don't mind a Manual Tranny would be to bolt in a NV4500. Just call to local junkyards and see it they have any. As far as I've seen in central TX, you can pick one up for around $800 with the bell housing. Kinda expensive though, and the adapter is pricey too. Advance Adapters makes one for about $500 and change. That's if you're gonna run a 205, but you can check their prices if you're at all interested. Oh well it's a big and expensive job, but it's good to keep your options open.
    -Ben
     
  3. rockink5

    rockink5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2002
    Posts:
    693
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tracy, CA
    Not sure if the 700 would hold up to the torque of a BB. I think even a built 700 would be questionable.
     
  4. Hossbaby50

    Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2001
    Posts:
    8,972
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peoria, AZ
    Offroad Designs Blazer has a built 700R-4 (really built) behind a 468 BBC. It has held up to high power and low gears, but it is an expensive tranny, and is super built.
     
  5. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    If you wanna keep the 700r4 and use a 205 t-case, you have to go to Advance Adapters and either pickup a the shorter output shaft for like $180 (but then you gotta pay buku $$$$ to get the thing installed in the 700) or you get the Advance Adapters actually adapter for between the 700r4 and 205 for like $460; either way kinda pricey!!!

    I would be worried about the reliability of a 700r4 behind a BBC (esp. if its a stock 700). There is a reason the 700 never came from the factory behind a 454...the Th400 was reserved for that task...sure you can pay to get a built 700 like a Raptor or an Art Carr(like Harley mentioned)...Personally, if you wanna stick with an auto, get a Th400 and learn to live with high RPM on the highway, or pay to get a built 700, or get a 4L80-E and be done with it...A NV4500 would be a sweet choice IMO...row your own gears, improve driveline angles and it's a stout piece...The tranny is kinda pricy and so is hooking it up for what you want, but it would be SWEET...You could always put the 700 in now and start saving money and when you smoke the 700r4, get what you want...

    Chris
     
  6. fortcollinsram

    fortcollinsram 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2001
    Posts:
    2,261
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fort Collins, CO
    By the way, I am going to be running a 465/205 combo inplace of my 700/208 combo I curently have...I will also be going to 4.10 or 4.56 gears and 35's (38's are next) So I am gonna have to learn to live with high rpm...then again, 85% of my drving is below 50mph...It's all about doing what you think is right for you...There are always going to be trade-off's

    Chris
     
  7. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    i have designed a spacer that would allow you to adapt a 700R4 to a np205... I just havent had my machinist buddy crank it out for me yet. Assuming the thing works well for me, I may have some extras made to sell to fellow CK5ers. If anyone would be interested in such a thing, PM me. It'll cost less than the advanced adapters output shaft and you wont have to pay a tranny guru to tear down your whole tranny just to install the spacer either....

    J
     
  8. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    364
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    i have designed a spacer that would allow you to adapt a 700R4 to a np205... I just havent had my machinist buddy crank it out for me yet. Assuming the thing works well for me, I may have some extras made to sell to fellow CK5ers. If anyone would be interested in such a thing, PM me. It'll cost less than the advanced adapters output shaft and you wont have to pay a tranny guru to tear down your whole tranny just to install the spacer either....

    J
     
  9. LA Bogger

    LA Bogger 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 19, 2000
    Posts:
    192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Robins AFB, Georgia, USA
    Sound cool, I'm not familiar with the NP 205 yet but your idea sounds good. Let me know when you get it finished.

    Eat More Mud!!!
     
  10. outlaw612

    outlaw612 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2001
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield, Illinois
    If I use the Advanced Adapters output shaft for the 700, what adapter do i use? The one from a 350/205?
     
  11. Jay73K20

    Jay73K20 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Posts:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you use the TH350 to NP205 adapter, you also have to use a TH350 version NP205. I would buy the shaft from boe tie transmission for 154, I just bought it. It only cost me my labor to install.
     

Share This Page