Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4/203

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by metto, Jun 2, 2005.

  1. metto

    metto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    can you mate a 700 to a 203? i have heard that 700's have a longer output shaft, never measured though. im asking because some one wants to buy my 203 and they want to mate it to a 700.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    It can be done one of two ways, swap output shafts in the tranny to one which is the same length as a TH350 that can be bought from AA or ORD, or use the 2" spacer and be done.
     
  3. ramjet gmc

    ramjet gmc CK5 Staff Staff Member Moderator GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Posts:
    3,370
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Milltown NJ 08850 NJ sucks
    4x4high is right on

    i went with the spacer i needed it fast and could not see rebuilding a good trany to put the new shorter shaft in
     
  4. sweetk30

    sweetk30 professional hooker Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2004
    Posts:
    25,548
    Likes Received:
    543
    Location:
    horseheads , ny 14845
    also the case is close to the tranny pan and might cause problems. get the spacer.
     
  5. metto

    metto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    cant you just hack like an inch off the shaft and clean up the splines with a file? its not like the output shaft is hollow or anything
     
  6. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    If you do that you won't have much spline engagement and thats not good.
     
  7. metto

    metto Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Posts:
    64
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Raleigh, NC
    but if you use the 350 adapter it would place the 203 in the same position in relation to the 700 as it would have been on the 350, therefore it would have to be the same amount of spline engagement right?
     
  8. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,063
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    The TH350 has a shorter stick out on the output shaft than a 700R4 does. Also the TH350/203 adapter is only 1" thick whereas the 700R4/208 is 3" thick so if you cut 2" off the output shaft and use the TH350/203 adapter you will have VERY LITTLE spline left. Trust me, i was going to do this years ago and after doing some research found out it isn't wise to do it that way.
     
  9. Tux

    Tux Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Posts:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phx
    Where can I get this spacer? another forum says there is someone here who sells them.

    Pj
     
    Last edited: Jan 12, 2006
  10. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.
    I need to know this also!
     
  11. CB77GMC

    CB77GMC 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Posts:
    771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Heath Springs, SC
    Add me to the list? But What is price diffrence between Spacer and Output shaft?
     
  12. alf4444

    alf4444 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2002
    Posts:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    T-ville, ut.
    bought the spacer off another member and it works great!
     
  13. Dallin

    Dallin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Posts:
    135
    Likes Received:
    0
    I spent weeks looking for the elusive spacer. Here it is:

    http://www.teckpak-fitzall.com/teckfitz/products/switch_kits.htm

    I believe the spacer is actually made for swapping a th350 in the place of a 700R4. I ended up not using the spacer. I'm going with the ORD shaft. I talked with the guys at ORD and they said the newer flange style front CV shafts can have clearance issues with the 700R4 pan. The older yoke style CV shafts are supposed to work fine. This is all for an NP205 to 700R4. I don't know if it's true for an Np203 or not.
     
  14. steve_kibbe

    steve_kibbe 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Posts:
    2,895
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    Thanks for the link.
     
  15. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,031
    Likes Received:
    366
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    that is the exact spacer I am using to run a 205 behind my 700R4. It requires that the 700s output shaft be trimmed an 1/8"... but otherwise its a "bolt on" affair. Mine may be FS soon...

    j
     

Share This Page