Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4 has 4 gears now, but shifts real lazy, TV pressure issue?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Russell, Sep 11, 2005.

  1. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Hey guys, as the title says, my 700r4 now has all four gears, and shifts relatively well now. However, the 1 - 2 shift is extremely lazy, it isn't really a shift so much as a lazy slide from one gear to the next. If I am at a slower acceleration, it does just fine, but when I give her some gas, it feels just terrible when it shifts. Again, I've got as much TV pressure on it as I can, after modifying my bracket to move as far back as it'll go. Its almost like my TV cable is stretched or something.
     
  2. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    is the 1-2 shift the only one thats lazy?
     
  3. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    No, the other shifts are a bit lazy too, but the 1 - 2 is the worst.
     
  4. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I have never had a 700r4 that is stock and shifts hard from 1-2. There is a valve that keeps the 1-2 from being hard in the valve body it is actuated if the throttle is more than 1/2 open. On mine if I floor it 1-2 is like a slide like you say if I take my foot off of the gas right before it shifts it will shift decent. 2-3 and 3-4 are like normal auto shifts. This is just my experience please do not take it as fact.

    Ira
     
  5. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I'm gonna take a video of how the tranny shifts, and let you guys tell me what you think. It shifts nice when you take it easy, but if you get on it, it feels absolutely terrible, even for a 700r4!
     
  6. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,090
    Likes Received:
    489
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Don't miss the simple stuff. Make sure your fluid level is right and in good condition. You can check for cable stretch without even dropping the pan. Just adjust it to full tight and then (without the engine running) stomp the gas. If the adjuster moves, then the cable is tight enough.

    It sounds like you've done some work on this tranny lately?
     
  7. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    Is the cable adjusted properly, or have you tried to reset the cable tension again? Id check the fluid, and try and reset the cable tension. If thats outta whack, it will shift funny, and you'll burn it up eventually. You know that though.

    They are like a detent cabe on steriods. They control so much stuff in there. I got a new Delco one a while back. Wasnt too much. Might be cheap insurance if you ask me. Mine was stretched (but I thnk the tranny shop did that - whole other story).
     
  8. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I'm starting to think that my cable may be stretched, cause it doesn't wanna pull out from the adjuster anymore. I'm gonna get a new one, and see if that helps.

    And yeah, I've done a fair bit of work on the stupid thing already, lol, had to swap valve bodies out.

    I got it to shift relatively well now, just really sucky shifting if you are above 1/2 throttle. However, it doesn't wanna enter overdrive, so something it still not happy. I'm planning on taking it to a tranny shop, and get the guy I know there to take it for a test drive with me and see how it feels it him. The engine is another story too, Runs real rich all the time, and idles really high. I think it's got a mis-fire too, cause at an idle, its really rough, and bogs pretty bad off the line / looses a lotta RPMs and takes a few seconds to recover when you give her some gas to get her going, then let off right away (such as when backing it up)
     
  9. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    does your speedometer work? Might be a bad signal form the VSS. I broke my cable a while ago, havent installed the new one yet. VSS controls overdrive. No overdrive kinda sux, but Im not driving the Blazer right now anyway.
     
  10. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Yep, VSS is working correctly. It'll go into 4th at lower speeds, but not at highway speeds, it reports a TCC unlock due to a 4 -> 3 kickdown at those speeds, so not only am I not in overdrive, but the TCC isn't remaining locked up either. Amounts to some gas milage comparable to my old GMC 3/4 ton, lol
     
  11. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    Well, I got the truck a new TV cable, and WOW, that thing shifts like a brand new transmission now!

    Now on to getting that engine running tip top! Its very rich, idles high, and has an intermittent tick that I am thinking has to do with plug wires...
     
  12. carltono

    carltono Newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    EL PASO TEXAS
    700r4 shifting lazy

    This is really simple, your TV cable is not adjusted correctly. This is how you do it... You will need a friend to push down the accelerator all the way to the floor, and hold it down while you press the tab located right behind the linkage bracket, push the black plastic back until it stops. When you reach the point where it stops release the tab. Now your tv cable is locked and set to perform properly.
     
  13. ryoken

    ryoken Puppy Fabricator Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2003
    Posts:
    29,624
    Likes Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jersey Shore
    holy ancient threads...
     
  14. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,555
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
  15. blazinzuk

    blazinzuk Buzzbox voodoo Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Posts:
    17,412
    Likes Received:
    3,799
    Location:
    Afton / Star Valley Wyoming
    Was trying to figure out what Russell was still driving with a 700 lol
     
  16. Stomis

    Stomis Professional Amateur Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2007
    Posts:
    10,024
    Likes Received:
    250
    Location:
    Roseland VA/PtPleasant NJ
    Yep. I said to myself "Wait hes not dumb. Theres no way hes running a 700 behind a dmax!"

    :doah:
     
  17. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I am trying to figure out which truck this was?

    I'm guessing it was either my old 77 C10 Stepside or my 89 C1500... Holy blast from the past!! That was almost 10 years ago haha
     
  18. tRustyK5

    tRustyK5 Big meanie Staff Member Super Moderator GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2000
    Posts:
    36,186
    Likes Received:
    1,393
    Location:
    E-town baby!
    Weren't you still in middle school then Russ? :whistle:
     
  19. Can Can

    Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    15,555
    Likes Received:
    151
    Location:
    Cochrane, Alberta, Canada
    Russ wasn't even born when you and I were logging onto CK5, Rene!!!!

    lulz
     
  20. Russell

    Russell LB7 Tahoe Status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2000
    Posts:
    7,927
    Likes Received:
    343
    Location:
    Fort McMurray, Alberta
    I would have just graduated highschool in 05. This was probably in my 89 c1500. Most unreliable truck I've ever owned. Though my 2012 came very close...
     

Share This Page