Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700R4 Overdrive Question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by djsblaze, Dec 1, 2003.

1. djsblaze

djsblaze 1/2 ton status

Here goes-- Just got my K5 back from re-gearing to 4.88. I had a smaller version of this problem before regearing, but now it is considerably worse. Tranny works fine driving around town in Drive, not OD. No problems upshifting or down. When I put in OD, even at 60-70 on the highway, it "stalls" in and out, and bucks like a bull. Is it possible for OD to go "bad" and everything else work OK? Possible fixes? Thanks in advance.

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

I'm no expert on tranny's but sounds like maybe a lock-up convertor problem.

3. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

Maybe you don't have enough gear for your 38" tires......................

4. DBLAZER

DBLAZER 1/2 ton status

I also think that this is going to be an issue in the Tranny. I don't think it is the gearing.

5. Bubba Ray Boudreaux

Bubba Ray Boudreaux 1 ton status

[ QUOTE ]
    I also think that this is going to be an issue in the Tranny. I don't think it is the gearing.

[/ QUOTE ]

Maybe you should tell me to comprehend the post a little more before I spout off /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

6. skratch

skratch 1/2 ton status

Not sure but this almost sounds like the kickdown is acting up. My Burb did the same thing, might still I havn't driven it in over a year. But the thing is that kickdown will cause the tranny to keep shifting from in and out of fourth while your in OD with about 1/2 throttle. It can be replace with a unit from B&M or TCI that will only allow the shift to occurr at about 3/4 throttle and allow you to cruise in OD without the constant shifting.