Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4 rebuild, advice needed

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ambritmann, Jul 10, 2002.

1. ambritmann

ambritmann Registered Member

I a looking at rebuilding a 700r4 tranny for my 82' Diesel Blazer which has problems holding 4th gear. I do a lot of towing (trailer approx 2500 lb loaded) so it needs to be up to the loads. Am going to start with an 88' onwards unit as a core, what are the worthwhile upgrades to do ?. Do you need any special tools, I have started to read up on it with the ATSG and Haynes manuals. Am hoping that someone with hands-on experience can help me out with some advice. I have worked on ZF autos from Range Rovers so not a total novice.

2. kennyw

kennyw N9PHW Premium Member

I rebuilt one myself with no special tools. I improvised by drilling a hole in 2 small pieces of flat bar. Heck I didnt even own a pair of snap ring pliers at that time /forums/images/icons/grin.gif Then ran a long bolt thru the center of the clutch packs with one flat bar on each side. tighten a nut and it will compress the clutch packs enough to remove the snap ring and get it apart.

There are some good websites out there now that give some good tips for upgrades. But if you start with a 1988 tranny you will have most of them already.

3. BigOrange90Jimmy

BigOrange90Jimmy 1/2 ton status Premium Member

Ok,

Just to make sure, you do know that the '87 and up 700's have an electronically controlled locking torque convertor? I'm not sure if those prior to '87 do or not, but that's speaking from my experience with them. All I'd really say is check the valve body in the one you've got now. That or the filter just might be your problem.

4. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member