Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700R4 rebuild - can I do it myself?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by BayouBlazer88, Jan 9, 2003.

1. BayouBlazer88

BayouBlazer88 1/2 ton status

I have an 88 Blazer with about 130k miles on it and the tranny seems to be needing a rebuild. I've never done anything like it before nor do I know much about automatic transmissions. However I don't exactly have 1000 bucks laying around for a professional rebuild either. So is this something I can do myself? And what kits do you recommend using? I've got my eyes on the TCI Super Transmission overhaul kit ($210 at Summit). Also does anyone know where I can get a set of step-by-step instructions for the job?

2. dyeager535

dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

ATSG service manuals are pretty good, but the pictures kind of suck. To tell you the truth, I had an ATSG manual for my TH350, TH400, and 200-4R rebuilds, then someone gave me a video covering a 200-4R teardown/rebuild. You know, that thing is worth its weight in gold. There are little "tricks" and techniques that just aren't mentioned in the ATSG manual, and as with most things, seeing it done is easier than trying to understand an authors instructions. Plus you can rewind it if you don't understand a part /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif Snapshots can only show so much.

Maybe someone here has a 700R4 video they could rent or loan you, before you even try to tackle it, and see if you think you are capable. I guarantee that looking at the ATSG manual, without having a tranny in front of you, makes it seem super complex, just like an engine rebuild looks on paper.

3. imiceman44

imiceman44 1 ton status

4. Kyle89K5

Kyle89K5 1/2 ton status