Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4 swap front drive shaft clearance

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by dougyfreshh, Apr 1, 2006.

  1. dougyfreshh

    dougyfreshh Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2005
    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    cali
    I have done a 700r4 trans swap with a np 205 I used advanced adapters output shaft but now my front drive shaft wont bolt up it hits the pan any ideas guys
     
  2. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,032
    Likes Received:
    369
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    modify you tranny pan? Can't think of any other options. This is why most people use the $50 spacer instead of the AA shaft. Tiny CV or u-joints will work, but any kind of real (1350) cv will prolly end up having issues with the trannys pan. Not 100% sure why AA doesn't tell everyone this when they buy the shaft...

    j
     
  3. sandawgk5

    sandawgk5 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2003
    Posts:
    6,881
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Kitsap County PACNORWEST
    I have an idea put a 203 range box infront of the 205 and you will have plenty of pan clearance:D .

    Ira
     
  4. Leadfoot

    Leadfoot 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Posts:
    3,112
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Western Massachusetts
    I made the same mistake years ago. I should have used the cheap spacer too. I had to pull my pan and have a fabricator modify it. The problem is, some year 700r4's have an accumulator in that corner of the valvebody and you can only can a small amount of room. It's enough to run a stock driveshaft but nothing larger.
     
  5. oldblue70

    oldblue70 Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ga
    just posted about the same issue !

    I am in the process of the same conversion check the post from oldblue70 (me) in the garage for the webb site to order the better & cheaper adaptor
    as for advance adaptor I am very aggitated about the fact they did not inform me of issues I was told there would be no problems! but I guess there in buisness to make money but would also think that some times free advice would make future sales possible!!!

    maybe through this forum advance adapt will get some free advice on return customers!!!
    which if at all possible I will not be
     

Share This Page