Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4 to a 205 need pic

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 4x4k20, Dec 31, 2002.

  1. 4x4k20

    4x4k20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    williamson ga.30292
    who has some pics of these together? also would like some pics of a 203 mounted to a 700.
     
  2. Highlander

    Highlander 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2000
    Posts:
    1,204
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lakewood Colo
    I would really like to help you out but sorry I have no pic's maybe someday.

    Eric
     
  3. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    I don't have any pics, but I was running a 700R4 connected to a NP205 forawhile. I had a AA output shaft installed in the 700R4 when I had it rebuilt, this made it exactly like the TH350 as far as shaft stickout goes. Then I just used the stock 205 adaptor with the coupler sleeve and bolted it up. Even, used the same shifter for the T-Case, however it did move back slightly in the opening. Just had to clearance the floor tunnel a little.
     
  4. mudddog91

    mudddog91 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2000
    Posts:
    471
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    north carolina
    I dont have any pics but ive got a setup for sale.
    700r4/205 with adapter and shifter if your interested. /forums/images/graemlins/ignore.gif
     
  5. 4x4k20

    4x4k20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    williamson ga.30292
    do you remember how much the AA adapater cost ? i have heard they run about 550 . also what is the coupler sleeve ? i have a 205 with a adapater but no sleeve
     
  6. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    What vintage of 205 do you have? Mine was a 78 version with a figure 8 bolt pattern for mounting the adapter. My 205 had the 27 spline male input shaft (TH350 version). After changing the output shaft of the 700R4, it made the rear of the 700 just like a TH350. Then I just reused the coupler sleeve and the factory adaptor. There are a couple of different coupler sleeves used. One was for the 4 speed to 4speed version 205, which is a course 10 spline and one was for the TH350 to 205, which was a fine 27 spline. You need this coupler to mate the two shafts. If you have a newer version 205 with a round 6 bolt pattern I am not sure what you will have to do. Check out the ORD tech page. ORD Tech Page
     
  7. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    If you have a 205 off a 350, it will bolt right up! All you need is the adapter shown in my web page! The 205 has to be from a th350 Tranny! There is no way to adapt another style 205 to a 700! The output shaft from AA is about $650, and then you have to rebuild you tranny! The adapter in my pictures is $60 to your door from a tranny shop in another state! At least that's what I got it for! If you want the Name and Address, try a search, I just posted this last month to a guy!!!!!!!! Later!
     
  8. 4x4k20

    4x4k20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    williamson ga.30292
    i have a 205 its out of a 69 k5 . what i am wanting to do is this swap to where it looks factory. the shifter i have is also out of the 69 i dont think it will work so i would like to find a shifter out of a later model also the front output needs to be changed to a flat 4 bolt flange . i have thought about a AA shaft but they cost too much. and if i buy a spacer i think that would set the shifter too far back and my driveshafts would have to be modifed and i dont want to do all that. so i guess i need to study this a little harder before i try this but i really need a overdrive
     
  9. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Like I always say!:
    <font color="green"> $Money$ </font color> OR <font color="red"> Modify! </font color> /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  10. wayne

    wayne 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2001
    Posts:
    6,178
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Carlisle, Pa
    I'de say no matter what you do the rear shaft will have to be modified. Not sure on the front shaft though.
     
  11. K5BLT4FUN

    K5BLT4FUN 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2000
    Posts:
    496
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Peculiar, MO USA
    The Advance Adapter kit is only a new output shaft. The part number is 50-6900 and the cost on the AA site is only 170.75, which means you can get it from a distributor for much less. I only paid 150.00 for mine. My 700R4 needed to be rebuilt anyway so no big deal. The change in length is about 1-1/2" due to the fact that the 700R4 is longer than the TH350. My shifter came out it the factory hole with only slight trimming. I used a factory 205 shifter boot and mounting plate. Hope this info helps.
     
  12. BARRAZA

    BARRAZA 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Posts:
    259
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    USA
    You might want to consider moving the engine crossmember forward to account for the extra length. Would require no driveshaft mods and the shifter would be in the original spot. I've heard about it being done on a first gen but not sure what your working on.
     
  13. 4x4k20

    4x4k20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    williamson ga.30292
    i am putting it in my 79 k20 . if i can buy the adaptor that goes in the transmission for 170 thats the way i will go.
     
  14. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    there is an spacer type adapter you can get from transmission supply comps. I have a part # laying around somewhere..I'll post it along with a pic if I can find it. Thing costs around $50 if I remember right and all it requires is the shaving of about 1/8" off the 700s shaft.

    J
     

Share This Page