Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

700r4 to NP205

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by Z3PR, Nov 15, 2003.

  1. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    I want to run a 700r4 / NP205 combo. Does anyone make the adaptor ??? What else will I need ??? Currently running TH350 / NP203 combo.
     
  2. 4X4HIGH

    4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2001
    Posts:
    22,060
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Pleasanton, CA.
    You will need the TH350/205 adapter and then either use a spacer or change the tranny output shaft to the short shaft sold by advance adapters. If you use the short shaft you will have trouble with the front C/V hitting the tranny pan, but if you use the spacer along with the TH350/205 adapter it will clear just fine.
     
  3. unick

    unick 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2003
    Posts:
    4,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego Comufornia
    Well if you did that would you have to get new drive shafts?


    lmk
    Nick
     
  4. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    Well if you did that would you have to get new drive shafts?


    lmk
    Nick

    [/ QUOTE ]Getting new drive shafts wouldn't be a problem, couple drive shaft shops here locally.
     
  5. ntaj*ep

    ntaj*ep 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Posts:
    3,248
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Evergreen state
    I run the shorter output shaft and have no cv to trans. contact although it is close...
     
  6. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    I run the shorter output shaft and have no cv to trans. contact although it is close...

    [/ QUOTE ]How big of a lift ?? I've got 6.5" in the front, and 7" in the back. Would that make any difference ??? I'll probley just use a spacer.
     
  7. BILLY RAY

    BILLY RAY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2001
    Posts:
    1,319
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, Tx.
    Here is a link OLD ONE
    link
     
  8. Z3PR

    Z3PR Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2002
    Posts:
    19,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Everywhere
    [ QUOTE ]
    Here is a link OLD ONE
    link

    [/ QUOTE ]Thanks for the link. /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  9. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    yeah, spacer is cheaper and I can run an aluminum deep pan in my tranny with no problem at all. Someday if I want to go back to the old tcase, all i have to do is pull the spacer and go... i dont have to tear apart the whole tranny.

    j
     
  10. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    what does the spacer cost???
     
  11. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    about $50 vs the $150+ the AA short shaft is... which requires a complete tranny tear down to install. If you can do it yourself or are gonna have a tranny rebuilt anyway its no biggie... but if you're not thats a lot of extra $ for a shop to do it.

    j
     
  12. K1Orion

    K1Orion 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Posts:
    812
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    st.louis,MO
    Unless you are worried about overall length of the drivetrain I'd go with the spacer. No issues with shaft hitting pan and you can swap back to old case if you want.
     
  13. reeser

    reeser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Posts:
    434
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hayden Lake, ID
    j
    where'd you get yours from. the PO rebuilt my tranny w/the corvette servos and the whole nine yards so i'm not going to tear into it!
     
  14. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    quote from K5BLT4FUN from another thread...

    "The transmission parts shop that I bought mine from is called:

    A & Reds Transmission Parts
    2501 E Truman Road
    Kansas City, MO 64127
    (816) 483-7337

    I talked to them today and they can sell just the adaptor. The part # 7Q35A and it sells for around $50.00. They said they could ship it for an additional charge. Hope this helps.
    Layne"

    hope it helps. this adapter is not 100% bolt on, pretty sure you do need to grind about an 1/8" off the end of the output shaft for it to mate up just right, but you dont have to take it out of the tranny for that.

    j
     
  15. Wally81k5

    Wally81k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2002
    Posts:
    139
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cold Lake Alberta
    how long is the spacer supposed to be?
     
  16. jekbrown

    jekbrown I am CK5 Premium Member GMOTM Winner Author

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Posts:
    45,030
    Likes Received:
    365
    Location:
    Vancouver, WA, USA
    spacer mentioned above is 2" thick, IIRC.

    j
     

Share This Page