Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

72 lift questions... Please help me on my first post!

Discussion in '1969-1972 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mr_blasto, Nov 8, 2004.

1. mr_blasto

mr_blasto 1/2 ton status

I am totally new at this and I apologize for the long post. I have been doing searches and manually sifting through various forums, but I haven't found exactly what I am looking for. I just bought a '72 /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif during the last year. The owner before me had it for 31 years and kept it totally stock. I got sick of looking at those silly wheels and tires, so I bought some 15X10's and some BFG All-Terrain 35x12.5x15. Now, clearly I need a lift.

I have been wrestling with this for a while, and I think I have it figured out, but I am looking for some advice/feedback/opinions. The car is not my daily driver, but it may be soon as my dd is dying. I live in LA so most of my driving will be on-road so I am looking for a lot of comfort. I will be making a few trips to Aspen, Co this winter (I am a ski instructor) so it has to be very capable in the snow. Next year I will be going to school in UT again, and with Moab not too far away, I want to be able to have a very capable/fun off-roader. I am a little hesitant to cut the fenders cause it is an original K5 in better than decent shape, and all the fender triming I've seen has been pretty noticeable. As stated the car is almost totally stock, no winch, tube bumpers, or other heavy stuff. I don't do any towing. Budget is a huge concern.