Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

76 Chevy duelly drive train . . . are differentials the same/compatible??

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by ratchetmaster, Mar 26, 2003.

1. ratchetmaster

ratchetmaster Registered Member

I am new to 4x4 trucks.
    I ran across a 76 duelly with all the drive train still in place (less motor).

What parts are valuable to 4x4 guys?? Any? They are 3/4 ton axles I beleive . . . any parts worth getting for my 78 long bed 1/2 ton 4x4??
    Other parts worth getting and selling/trading for stuff I can use??

All help appreciated.
    Thanks

2. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

step back a second, if its a dually its a 1 ton not 3/4 ton. There is no such thing as a 3/4ton dually. Or are you talking about something different? can't tell with the spelling. What are you looking at here? I mean is it 4x4? Does it have a manual tranny? The rear won't really be useable unless someone wants to build a dually(personally want to but only enough money for the K5 for now).

3. R72K5

R72K5 Banned

R05 dual rear wheel conversion existed in 67-72 years for K20 cab-chassis trucks(03 models) but maybe went away for 73-up years ? hmm... ive never had any GM specs sheets for anything after 72.

1 ton axles have too narrow spring perches in the rear are only 40" centers compared to 42.5" under everything else 73-up

good luck

4. sled_dog

sled_dog 1 ton status

I am looking to get a single rear wheel 14 bolt 1 ton but I will have to move spring perches and I know that and am confident in donig it.

5. R72K5

R72K5 Banned

[ QUOTE ]
    I am looking to get a single rear wheel 14 bolt 1 ton but I will have to move spring perches and I know that and am confident in donig it.

[/ QUOTE ]