Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

76 K5 4spd in need of transfer case. Riverside Ca.

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by ToolTimepits1, Jan 22, 2006.

1. ToolTimepits1

ToolTimepits1 Newbie

Im a beginner, the truck runs strong but the 4x4 binds up. I just want to know if you guys rebuild transfer cases of swap them out?

Is there a plase to get a good deal on getting my case fixed?

2. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

define "binding up"..

If by "binding up",you mean the truck drives normally,until you lock the hubs and put it in 4wd,it could be other things besides the transfer case having a bellyache..

If the front and rear axles dont "match"(have the same gear ratio,)the truck will feel like its twisting and holding back,might even cause a hub to unlock violently,or do other damge,maybe refuse to move at all in 4wd--or make it do good doughnuts in sand,because either the front or rear wheels will be turning faster than the others!....cracking the transfer case is among the list of things this will break!!--also,all 4 tires should be the same size,or it can cause the same thing..

(sometimes "mismatched" gear ratios are compensated for by swapping bigger or smaller tires on one axle (front or rear)to help "even out" the difference,as a "crutch" to avoid having to find and install another "matching" gear ratio axle)....

Some binding or "kicking" is normal if your on dry tar or dirt,and you have "part time" 4wd (transfer case has no differential in it to allow "full time" 4X4,like a NP205 )..depending on the year of your truck,it could possibly have a NP203 Transfer case that was "full time" 4WD..(73-79 I think)..