Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

8 inch life and pratical tires?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by spongeidys, Aug 31, 2005.

1. spongeidys

spongeidys 1/2 ton status

im a new member and have a 86 k20, its lifted 8 inches, stock axels(10 bolt front 14 rear) this is my first project ;D was wondering what that most pratical tire size would be, around here there is a nice balance of mud and rocky trails but rocky trails is more easily accesable was wondering what the best tire size would be, i mainly wanted to run 38's 38/12.50 or 38/14.50 but ive been questioning that lately any input on sizes would be welcome ;D

2. 3rdshiftdesign

3rdshiftdesign 1/2 ton status

38's on half ton stuff = snapped front axles as soon as you get on it good. I have 38's on mine until i put the 60 under it, however, putting in an axhole-- doesn't take me long :) kind of like putting oil in at this point

3. spongeidys

what about 3/4 ton stuff? i plan on getting a d60 and a 10.5" 14 bolt as soon as i can track some down near me but for now ill have to live with the 10bolt and 9" 14bolt

4. unclematty

unclematty 1/2 ton status

I run a 3/4 ton D44 with 36 in tires with no problems (it is a D44hd) but you know me, I love using the stupid pedal :D

5. spongeidys

so....i wanna know if running 38/14.50's with an 8 inch lift on 15x10 eaton beadlocks with 3" back spaceing will cause a clearance problem in the steering and is it really worth going wider? i only ask cause i will be ordering my tires in the next week and have nothing to fab up or no idea how to measure for these things

6. trailblazr81

trailblazr81 1/2 ton status