Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

81 speedometer still doesnt work

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by R72K5, May 25, 2005.

  1. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    ok in the 81 the speedometer wasnt working at all so i felt up under dash to speedometer and the cable wasnt on it so i popped it back on it and the speedo still doesnt work and its connected good and tight at the tranny

    any ideas ?
    it is totally dead needle never budges ever
     
  2. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,976
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Going to need to check to see if the cable rotates at the speedo end while you drive.

    If it doesn't, broken cable or speedometer drive or driven gears shot.

    If it does, speedometer is toast.
     
  3. 85mudblazin

    85mudblazin 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2004
    Posts:
    3,951
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin,TX
    Is this on a 4x4??
    If so it should go into the back housing on the transfer case, not the tranny.
     
  4. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    nope is 2wd

    i guess i am gonna have to take cable back off speedo back and try to feel it while driving, or pull the cluster and drive then,

    hmm


    thanks
     
  5. spearchucker

    spearchucker 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    Posts:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay area, CA
    I don't know if you're able to do this, but instead of going through the hassle of removing the cable from the speedo could you disconnect it at the tranny and hook it to a drill? Just a thought.
     
  6. mudslinger99

    mudslinger99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast
    That is how I checked mine works good too :waytogo:

    dyeager535 named all the parts involved that could need to be replaced..

    I will give you a hint just because the plastic driven gear doesn't look wore out don't mean it's not... The gear is about $7.00 at the dealer and the cable is about $15.00 At Auto Zone IIRC ...
     
  7. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    auto zone has specific application cables ? housings too or just cables ?

    interesting


    opk i just went out to truck and got under it and disconnected the cable off the tranny and the cable was slid out of the housing way too far and was kidna jammed wouldnt spin so i finally got it back in right and it spins goods and with my fingers spinning the cable the speedo will jump up to around 35mph
    so thje speedo and cable are good

    but why did the cable slide out of the housing and jam up ?

    isnt there supposed to be an flat end collar or something on the cable to keep the cable in place inside the housing ?


    thanks
     
    Last edited: Jun 13, 2005
  8. mudslinger99

    mudslinger99 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Posts:
    512
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast
    Yes they have both the cable and the outer liner...They matched it up perfect the 1st time too :shocked:

    You can buy just the cable or you can get the cable with the outer liner... The $15.00 I paid for mine came with both but they did have just the cable itself for a few dollars less...

    You can actually undo the clip from the speedometer and from tranny/transfercase and leave the liner connected to the frame and slide the new cable thru it... But There is only a couple clips to mess with to replace the hole thing so that is the way I did mine...

    As for the cable getting jammed up in the housing I'm not sure how that would be possible if it was the correct cable size..
     
  9. R72K5

    R72K5 Banned

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2001
    Posts:
    8,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    central IL
    hmm

    im confused


    i dunno what the deal is

    guess never will have a speedo in this one


    thanks
     

Share This Page