Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

83 column in a 87 truck

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Batmanjr, Oct 14, 2003.

  1. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Alright... Not worried about the cruise control, but I want to know about the wiper control... Can or is there a way to wire the wipers to work on a three position switch? Up= HIGH, Down=LOW, and Middle= OFF??? Also, Is there anything else I'm going to have problems with running the different year columns??? THanks!
    PS. I know wabout the brights, plan on just adding the floor switch! Thanks! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  2. 84_Chevy_K10

    84_Chevy_K10 Banned

    Joined:
    May 30, 2001
    Posts:
    17,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    IL, USA
    Wipers are on the dash in an 83? My '84 has them in the column and I have an '87 column installed with no modifiation necessary.
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,980
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Some other difference that may cause problems would be the chime module...wires for that. Some years the wiring position on the plugs changed, but the plugs themselves were the same.

    Really best to compare the two wiring diagrams together...wire colors may have changed, but function was the same.
     
  4. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Here is my deal.... I have an 87 with a tosted column.... I'm getting an 85 that is a standard truck and the drivetrain is going into the 83.... AS well as the column.... So I want to use the auto column from the 83 in the 87 and the 85 in the 83.... Impossible, I think not, but em I going to have to custom wire the whole thing???? Anyone already done this? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif
     
  5. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    If you need, i have the complete wiring diagram for 83 vehicles /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  6. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    ME LIke! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif Please! /forums/images/graemlins/wink.gif
     
  7. Muddytazz

    Muddytazz 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2002
    Posts:
    20,073
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salem, Or.
    you should have mail....if you don't get it, pm me /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif
     
  8. Batmanjr

    Batmanjr 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2001
    Posts:
    1,537
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Copperas Cove, Texas
    Thanks MAn, Now I've just got to find the same for an 87! /forums/images/graemlins/thinking.gif
     

Share This Page