Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

83 ish Switch Question

Discussion in 'Southeast Region' started by 79Stomper, Oct 19, 2006.

  1. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA
    Anyone happen to know what the sensor above the oil filter is for? I know where the temp and the oil pressure switches are but what about the one above the oil filter. Has 2 prongs coming off of it going into the cab.



    TIA
    James
     
  2. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    Idiot light?
     
  3. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA
    Sorry, I meant to put that it has gauges in it.
     
  4. ryan22re

    ryan22re 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2005
    Posts:
    3,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Irmo, SC
    My 87 TBI had two, but I dunno why an 83 would have two.

    ?????
     
  5. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Its for the choke circuit . Take it off , no choke worky :D Just like mine .
     
  6. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA

    Thanks. There was one wire cut on it all ready and sealed shut so I didn't really think it was that important anyways. One more set of wires I can pull out of the engine compartment.


    Thanks again
    James
     
  7. GotLabs

    GotLabs 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Posts:
    2,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Transient, USA
    Are you sure its not one of the "shutdown" switches? You know the ones that shut the engine down at "?" psi?
     
  8. 79Stomper

    79Stomper 1/2 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2004
    Posts:
    4,225
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    Forest, VA
    DAMNIT, made me think there for a minute





    No that little switch couldn't do all of that. It is linked in with the temp switch as well so I am going with the above answer for choke. It is a fully loaded truck so I am sure it had all the bells and whistles including the optional electric choke in 83 where alot of them were the type that got heat from the exhaust manifolds to close the choke. ( The specific term escapes me right now or I would have said that)
     

Share This Page