Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

85 305 carb same as 86 305 carb?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Bone85K5, Jul 3, 2002.

  1. Bone85K5

    Bone85K5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 7, 2000
    Posts:
    436
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Columbus, Georgia
    Any ideas? A friend of mine with an 86 k5 305 needs a carb. I have one off of my 85 and we are wondering if mine will work on his 86.
     
  2. bigblock454

    bigblock454 Clack Clack Clack Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2002
    Posts:
    546
    Likes Received:
    16
    Location:
    Terre Haute IN
    I have one from my 86. It ran OK with it.
     
  3. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    Should. Probably not the exact same (different primary rods/jets, secondary rods/hangars maybe) but as long as neither has any electrical stuff on it besides choke, you should be ok.

    Might be one or two extra or missing vacuum ports as well, but thats not a big deal either. Just compare before bolting the other on.
     
  4. txbartman

    txbartman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    Do watch out for the eletrcial connections. In 85 about the only eletrical connections were the choke and the idle mixture solenoid. But, i believe that starting in 86, they added an ECM to the rig and used it for other electrics on the carb. Just look at the wiring going to the carb to see if they match. if they do, you are probably set.
     
  5. txbluethunder

    txbluethunder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Posts:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    my 86 only has the choke and mixture controls. i believe that only the cali units had ecm's.
     
  6. txbartman

    txbartman 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2001
    Posts:
    1,975
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Plano, TX
    that's cool. i know I have the M4MEC in my 85, but I knew they went to the E4MEC right around 86/87. Wasn't sure exactly when it happened, though.
     

Share This Page