Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

86 engine computers

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by txbluethunder, Feb 20, 2002.

  1. txbluethunder

    txbluethunder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Posts:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    does anyone know if there is a difference in p/n between the 305 ecm and the 350. i'm trying to swap engines with minimal effort and still retain all the goverment control...em i mean the pollution control stuff.

    1986 K5 Blazer
    Tired Stock 305/700R4/3.08
    F:2.5" Procomp Springs/RS9000
    R:1.5" Procomp Leaf/2" Procomp Block/RS9000
    Working on getting 33's
     
  2. rocko

    rocko 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2000
    Posts:
    3,380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellsworth, Maine
    Not sure. you might want to contact Henna Chevrolet Parts dept and ask them...
    And hello from Round Rock also...
    I live of Chisholm Valley and Wagon Gap.. by Hester's Crossing.

    I haven't failed, I've found 10,000 ways that don't work. www.rocko.rockcrawler.com
     
  3. Captkaos

    Captkaos 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, AL
    This is late, but '86 didn't have a computer. It used a ESC for the distributor which I recommend you chunk in the garbage and replace with a standard HEI.

    Chris Lucas
    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.captkaoscustoms.com>http://www.captkaoscustoms.com</a>
     
  4. blazing86

    blazing86 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2000
    Posts:
    290
    Likes Received:
    0
    the 86 i have had a computer that ran the carburater and a few other things. My truck also came with the hei distributer. When i swapped in a 350 for the 305 i just bybassed most of the computer controlled carb.
     
  5. gokartergo

    gokartergo 3/4 ton status Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2000
    Posts:
    5,855
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hollister, CA
    86 did come with a computer.. I believe it was the first and last year of the computer controlled carbs.. I am not sure but I think you will have to replace the chip....Dan

    If it ain't broke.......Don't fix it....
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Gokartergo>KLICK</a>
     
  6. dysphemism

    dysphemism 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Posts:
    667
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    My 86 has a computer.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://community.webshots.com/user/runfordaborder>my baby</a>
     
  7. loudnowlouder

    loudnowlouder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Posts:
    539
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ellicott City, MD
    hmm thats a good question
    i have an 85, it has the computer controlled electric choke, didnt know it was even in there till i saw it while replacing the heater core...
    i swapped my 305 with a 350, plugged in the electric choke and it worked fine...
    maybe i should have asked that question when i did my swap, but i didnt and it works fine
    hope this helps
     

Share This Page