Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

87 350 tpi

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tim_87, Feb 5, 2001.

  1. tim_87

    tim_87 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2001
    Posts:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    louisiana
    wondering would I benefit more from a chip or tpi spacer or both. my ride has 33's and a auto trans
     
  2. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    First of all, welcome to the best and most addictive site on the web!

    Second, you don't have TPI (Tuned Port Injection) on your '87, unless you converted it from TBI (Throttle Body Injection). From the question about the spacer, think you have TBI (looks like a carb on your manifold).

    Third, there are varied opinions from the guys on this site about the use of the chip on a stock motor. Some guys will tell ya to not waste your money..........the spacer might help a bit, might be more valuable to do things like dual exhaust, K&N air filter, etc. first, then try the chip. We had to use a custom chip for my TPI 406 (see site below) but this is on a far from stock motor.............

    Again, welcome aboard.

    <font color=orange>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;<A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com>http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  3. Emmettology 101

    Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2000
    Posts:
    8,126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    FL
    Unless your engine is out of a Vette or a Camaro, then you have TBI...

    My firend used the spacer on his 93 Ext. Cab 4x4 Z-71, but he didn't notice much of a difference.
    I put a chip in an 88 Camaro I had once. It was a 2.8 v6 and I noticed a difference with the new chip. The chip I used was a Jet Stage 2 chip. But in order to use stage 2 chips, youneed to have an exhaust and a cooler thermostat...

    Mike [​IMG]
    See <font color=green>EMMETT</font color=green> -&gt; <A target="_blank" HREF=http://emmett.coloradok5.com>http://emmett.coloradok5.com</A>
     
  4. dyeager535

    dyeager535 1 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2000
    Posts:
    26,979
    Likes Received:
    189
    Location:
    Roy WA
    All I've ever heard from folks with a stock motor is that the chip was the biggest waste of money they spent, bar none. Headers will net you more power by far, probably for a bit more cost, but definitely worth it.

    Dorian
    My K5 and Chev/Olds tech/links page: <A target="_blank" HREF=http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html>http://www.dorianyeager.com/index2.html</A>
     

Share This Page