Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

87 k5 problem

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by K5Kell, Mar 27, 2003.

1. K5Kell

K5Kell Guest

All right guys I need some help here since Im kind of new to the game. About a week ago I was driving my blazer and when i pulled over it blew smoke out the exhaust and lots of white pellets, I assume this was my cat blowing out, right? well i didnt drive it for a week(vacation) and when i did today after about eight miles when cruising at 45-50 and it started acting as it was running out of gas when under medium exceleration.I first thought it was the tranny because it was happening as it tried to down shift as Igave the gas. I got it home and took it for another drive, same problem except worse. under light exceleration it seems fine but when more gas is put on then it starts to sort of jump and a poping/tcking noise comes from underneath. also it has developed a rougher idle that has a strong powerstroke that shakes the whole blazer, the longer it idles the worse it seems to get. Any help or ideas to send me in the right dircection would be greatly apreciated /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif.
    -Kell-

2. 83ZZ502_Jimmy

83ZZ502_Jimmy 1/2 ton status

I'd say the convertor is shot. If its bad, it can cause all those symptoms.

John /forums/images/graemlins/usaflag.gif

3. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned

Sounds like the cat is getting plugged up. Cut that damn thing off and put in a piece of pipe in it's place.

4. K5Kell

K5Kell Guest