Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

87 V10 shifting problems

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by The Beav, May 28, 2002.

  1. The Beav

    The Beav Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    I have an '87 V10 Blazer. 350cu in 700R4. The current problem I have is that it shifts soft and slow from 1st to 2nd. You can notice it more under heavy acceleration. 2nd to 3rd is ok. I have heard, but don't know how, that you can adjust the shifting characteristics. Any suggestions? TIA
     
  2. walt88

    walt88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 24, 2000
    Posts:
    430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Monmouth County, NJ
    Get a crovette servo and replace the one thats in there and see what happens. From what I here doing that makes the shifting tighter. Also make sure you are running the right fluid and right amount, thats about all I can tell you.
     
  3. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,084
    Likes Received:
    486
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    You could also change the setup of the 1-2 accumulator. A shim and/or tighter spring could be used.
     
  4. Chris Demartini

    Chris Demartini 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    2,406
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Dumont NJ 07628
    <font color=blue>The clutchpack could be worn. How does the fluid look?
     
  5. The Beav

    The Beav Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Posts:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver, Colorado, USA
    Thanks for the info. The tranny was rebuilt about 2 years ago. Had 155,000 miles on it. Not have 21,000 miles on rebuilt. It seems to have gotten slightly worse but not much. it has been this way since rebuild. As a novice, what is a servo? Is this an external swap? The fluid looks fine. Thanks for the help.
     

Share This Page