Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

88 GMC Jimmy Newbie

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by camango, Mar 3, 2002.

1. camango

camango Registered Member

ok folks, i am new to the K5 brotherhood, and need to get started on this project, so here's my first questions

- the body decal is missing on my door jamb, and i need to find the color codes so i can get the right paint - it's a blue top gray bottom 88 jimmy - any help?

- i'll be towing a travel trailer - what mods. do i NEED to make - trans cooler, shocks, etc.

- anyone got a used soft top to sell?

thanks in advance for any info.

-lou

2. Stomp

Stomp 1/2 ton status

It will help alot if you tell us your specs on your truck and also fill out your profile

3. Hossbaby50

Hossbaby50 3/4 ton status

If you just got the truck, change every fluid and filter in it. Also do a tune up. (plugs, wires, rotor, etc.) Assume nothing has been changed in years.

For towing, you are right, a BIG tranny cooler is a must. And a good set of shocks isn't a bad idea either.

4. MEM

MEM Registered Member

5. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

Like Stomp mentioned above, take a second and fill in your profile. Read through the FAQs, too- there's a lot of good info in there for newbies.

1. Make sure you install a auxilliary tranny cooler before you tow. Buy a good quality stacked-plate cooler with a bypass system to prevent over-cooling.

2. If you have a 700r4(overdrive) tranny, NEVER tow in overdrive.

3. Before you tow, find out what gear ratio you're running. Anything less than 3.42s on a stock application can lead to poor towing performance, especially if you're running 33s or higher.