Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

88 k5 tbi issues

Discussion in 'The Injection Section' started by Txchevy18, Mar 25, 2007.

1. Txchevy18

Txchevy18 1/2 ton status

Ok guys ive got a problem and since im new to fuel injection I thought I would post up and see if I can gain some knowledge and prevent myself from throwing cash at the problem. Well here goes, next friday i am buying my old boss's 88 k5. The guy that he loaned it to "blew the motor, So im getting a great price on it. Well I just cant belive its blown. It will turn over with no problems or strange noises. Theres no water in the oil and, fuel pump is brand new. From what i understand the story is that the guy went offroad on the beach, got it stuck, and then got out. About a 1/2 a mile away it just died and now they cant get it to run. To me I would think that its a electrical problem. He swears its blown and thats fine w/ me since the price is about a grand less that what i was oringinaly going to pay for it. Though if worst comes to worst i have a newer tbi motor w/ a carb conversion from a caprice that I can throw in there out of my 83 k5 parts truck.

Just for reference the specs on the truck are: 10bolt/sbc350 tbi/ 700r4(just rebuilt 2 weeks ago/np208( freshen up as well/10bolt rear.

Thanks in advance guys,
    Cory

2. 4X4HIGH

4X4HIGH 1 ton status Premium Member GMOTM Winner

The first thing to check for is spark. The GM ignition modules go bad on a regular basis.

3. Thunder

Thunder 3/4 ton status

Yup check for spark. also FYI If there is no spark the ECM will also shut the fuel pump down.

A few other things to check:
    If you have good spark.
    listen for the fuel pump running It should turn on for a few seconds then stop when the ignition is turned to on position.