Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

90 K5 floor project

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by corradofreek, Nov 11, 2004.

1. corradofreek

corradofreek 1/2 ton status

so i have a 90 K5 and the floors are rotting out. i have been thinking about doing the floors, but everytime i put it on the lift, the project seems sooooo grim. i am a very compentant mechanic with many ASE's, but have never rebuilt something like this..

my question is: with how bad my blazer is, should i:
    A: get all the replacement floor pieces, new body mounts and associted hardware and start fabbin?

or

B: find a nice southern shell and work on getting that.

if everything goes through, i'll have a nice place to do the work over the winter. but i'm not sure how big of a project this could become. this is after all my winter truck/ offroad toy and i wanna keep it as the motor and drivetrain are excellent

lets hear your opinions. and if yopu can help a recently unemployed mechanic, let me know tooo /forums/images/graemlins/smile.gif

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

3. corradofreek

Thanks for the reply, and a great one at that. now to think on this one. i was definatly thinking of rhino lining the cab or something similar to make it easy to clean after mudding. and looks like i will need alot of measurements to make this right

4. southernspeed

southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

[ QUOTE ]
    A member here , jlaughner , did his entire floor in diamond plate .

[​IMG]

http://www.jjlaughner.com/truck/floorrepair/floorrepair.html

[/ QUOTE ]
    Yeah, he did A LOT of work. I hear they are going to ask him to fit out all the trucks in Iraq as that thing is 'land mine proof' now!! /forums/images/graemlins/rotfl.gif

5. bablazer73

bablazer73 1/2 ton status