Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

91 K5 spedo does not work

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84CUCV, Nov 29, 2006.

  1. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    No idea what is going on with this. When i am doing about 60mph the engine light comes on, then goes out. After that the spedo needle jumps up and down and the e break light stayes on. So what is up with my truck? Could it be a bad cable on the spedo? thx for the help
     
  2. scooter122983

    scooter122983 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Posts:
    297
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Fond du Lac, WI
    In 91 there is no speedo cable it is a vss located on the tailshaft housing. You also have a rear wheel anti-lock brake module next to the brake master cylinder. The vss sends the signal to the module and after the module it goes to the computer, after the computer it then finally goes to the gauge. Check the brake module connections since the e-brake light in this model is also the RWAL brake light. And if the brake module is shot the speedo will not register correctly if at all.
     
  3. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    What do you mean by RWAL?
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2006
  4. obijuan

    obijuan 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Posts:
    4,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio TX
    rear wheel anti-lock
     
  5. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    OK thx
     
  6. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    Where can i get a scaner so i can go see what codes i have? I would think they are all just about the same. right??

    thx mike
     
  7. southernspeed

    southernspeed 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Posts:
    4,395
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    VA
    Just put a jumper wire or paper clip between a and b on the aldl and the SES light will flash codes starting with the code 12 handshake 3 times and then any stored fault codes.
     
  8. randy88k5

    randy88k5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Posts:
    1,248
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lynchburg, VA, USA
    FWIW, my check engine light came on in my 88 when I broke the speedo cable. It was the computer bitching at me because it couldnt lock the torque converter.
     
  9. 84CUCV

    84CUCV 3/4 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2002
    Posts:
    7,115
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    NJ for now
    OK thx guys
     

Share This Page