Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

96 jimmy4x4 dont work

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by customdeluxxe, Nov 20, 2005.

  1. customdeluxxe

    customdeluxxe Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsburg,Pennsylvania
    :confused: :confused: I have power to the switch but none of the lights come on and nothing works.Since this problem started there is a sound coming from the bottom center of the dash that sounds like a little motor running.I need help(snows coming) :confused:
     
  2. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    Have you checked all your vaccuum lines and relays?
     
  3. gauder

    gauder Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2005
    Posts:
    1,613
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    done
  4. customdeluxxe

    customdeluxxe Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsburg,Pennsylvania
    My junk

    4x4low would ingage,but when i pulled fuses and wiggled fuses the 4high would work.Thinking I had a wire in the fuse box not making contact I tore the entire dash apart.Thats when I found that i had power to the switch but no ground.Does the switch have constant power like a GM horn set up or am I looking at this in entirely the wrong manner?
     
  5. customdeluxxe

    customdeluxxe Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsburg,Pennsylvania
    no posiloc

    No offense but Im not paying $126 for a locking throttle cable and little pieces of angle .Im confident I would rather have it be all factory.Thanks anyhow
     
  6. Jagged

    Jagged 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    Posts:
    11,460
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    SWVA
    That switch uses one of the same relays that your hazards/turn signals use for power, and it actuates a vaccuum switch to lock your hubs.

    I forget whether the transfer case is electrically or vaccuum actuated.
     
  7. u2slow

    u2slow 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 9, 2001
    Posts:
    2,217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC Canada
    The t-case itself has an electric shift motor.
     
  8. customdeluxxe

    customdeluxxe Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Williamsburg,Pennsylvania
    my junk

    You guys are helping me get closer.no doubt.But I still have the funny humming noise under the center of the dash and with new relays and switch on the transfer case and dash I still cant figure out what gives the swith on the dash ground.
     

Share This Page