Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

99 Vortec in a 91 Blazer

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by STV, Sep 22, 2001.

  1. STV

    STV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Anyone know how hard it would be to put a 1999 350 vortec motor in a 91 blazer? Would I have to change the wiring harness? The 99 comes with all wiring and the computer. Way cheaper than a crate motor.
     
  2. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    I have a Vortec in mine. I axed the FI and went to a carb.

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     
  3. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    you'd have to use the new gm performance intake for TBI, and I'm not sure if you would need a custom chip or not... I'd call <a target="_blank" href=http://http:/www.fastchip.com>fastchip.com</a> and ask them. they burned my chip, but I'd assume you would not need a custom chip... worst case scenario is you change the cam to one that is computer compatible with your existing chip, and you should be set.

    I'm running that intake with TBI on Jedi Mind Trick.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  4. STV

    STV Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Winnipeg, MB Canada
    Thanks guys. One thing to note, I was thinking about using the vortec intake and injection and getting rid of the existing TBI. What do you think?
     
  5. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    I was discussing this point earlier, and everybody seemed to think this would be a nightmare...

    better thought would be to find a vehicle that could be a TPI donor, like a camaro or something... should be easier.

    also, you might want to look into a 383 stroker instead of a engine with vortec heads, or even better, a 383 stroker with vortec heads. you should be able to pick on up for the same price, or cheaper, then a 99 vortec. plus it would out perform the 99 vortec.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  6. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Vortec's take a different intake than the normal SBC.

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     
  7. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AL
    STV, I have a Vortec 350 in my 82. I went the carb and I wish I had gone with the original EFI. To convert one to Vortec fuel injection there are a few options. Howell fuel injection (<a target="_blank" href=http://www.howell-efi.com/wiring_kits/mpi_tpi_index.html> Vortec Harness</a>) makes a stand alone wiring harness to run the Vortec injection. It uses all the factory sensors and ECM. To hook it up you just plug everything in and supply a ground and two 12v positives. This would simplify the job greatly but it is expensive at $600. There are other problems to worry about with the computer but this is by far the easiest route. You could also use the factory wire harness and adapt it to fit. This would take some time but could be done. Either way you need all the factory componets, wires, sensors, air intake, etc. And for my 82 I would need a speed sensor to feed the computer data but you may have one on a 91. A good place to learn about the factory EFI is to contact Howell and ask them about the conversion using their harness. Also your local GM parts dealer has excellent wiring diagrams that could come in handy if you could get your hands on them. I plan on doing this conversion when time allows and probably will adapt the factory harness( with help from my uncle who has done 3 factory EFI conversions). The swap can be done and would make a good driving vehicle.
    Jordan
     
  8. shane

    shane 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 6, 2001
    Posts:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prince George, BC, Canada
    call up painless wiring, they should be able to straighten out the wiring for you. Probably not cheap though...

    Shane

    Never argue with idiots; They will drag you down to their level and beat you up with experience [​IMG]
     
  9. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Also to keep in mind if you end up ditching the EFI, Youll need to swap cams too. Hey wait we are talking about a Vortec 5.7 right? Or the new motor GM has?

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     
  10. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    I dont know what he'd do with the hole for the distributor on the new GM TBI intake. A newer motor like that has a crank sensor instead of a distributor.

    <a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76>http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76</a>
     
  11. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    how hard would it be to convert this to the other system like the newer chevy's.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  12. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AL
    A regular truck Vortec 350 would have a regular distributor. I have one just like it in my truck and I'm running an HEI in mine. The LS1 350 (all aluminum motor in Camaros, etc.) has a crank sensor for a distributor.
     
  13. Blazer_Boy

    Blazer_Boy 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2000
    Posts:
    1,669
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sioux City, IA, USA
    Umm sure. Gm dropped the distributor in '93 on cars and '95 on trucks. Ever wonder why you don't see a listing for after-market distributor for after 1995 for a GM motor, because they don't exist. I'm not sure what they did in '99 but I know on the 2001 models GM puts a coil pack for each individual cylinder right by the valve covers.

    You might be thinking of the GM vortec crate motors. They have tons of those that use a distributor but the post states the motor has all the wiring and things that came with it which makes the motor sound like one of a production vehicle and thus having the new ignition.

    &lt;a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76&gt;http://www.geocities.com/bigkern76&lt;/a&gt;
     
  14. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    how would one go about doing a conversion to the coil system??? I am assuming that with a custom chip this conversion could be done.

    I'd think there would have to be a lot of improvement in a system like this over a distributor.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  15. BigJohnson

    BigJohnson 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2001
    Posts:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AL
    Go find a 96 to 99 model truck or what ever with a Vortec 350 and look at the back of the motor there you will find a distributor. Try any part stores online to verify this. Here is the Napa part #NRD481833 for a 1996 distributor for a 350....look it up.

    I am not thinking of a crate motor. I have a real 350 out of a 1996 Suburban and it is a Vortec with a regular distributor.

    And I will restate, the LS1 350 doesn't use a conventional distributor but a crank sensor for sending spark to the cylinders. But this motor was not offered in trucks or any cars that I am aware of other than the Camaro and Trans Am.
     
  16. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    IMO the more elect. stuff you have the more places you have to go wrong.

    I prefer the K.I.S.S. princliple~~~~ Keep It Simple Stupid! LOL!

    No computer, No EFI, just HEI and a carb they can be easily fixed on the trail and your not chasing wires all over.

    Even if you have an underhood fire, you can rig up a few wires and be running in under 30 min to get yer butt off the trail rather than sleeping there!

    Just my 2 cents.

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     
  17. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    oh I know a LOT of people that like the carb over the EFI... I tell ya what though for some reason I still prefer EFI over a carb... now if it was in my truck / tow rig that won't see much trail use then I'd probably feel a little differently.

    you also gotta realize that a lot of the places I 4-wheel around here have a lot of hill climbing. actually hill climbing is probably the main type of 4-wheeling I do unless I'm getting to a fishing hole or something like that.

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  18. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    I agree that the EFI is better in off camber situations, but I have never had a prob. w/ hill climbing w/ a carb. A Holley at that. I would guess that it has been to a 60 deg. angle before. Maybe I have just been lucky so far.

    I just prefer simplicity, thats all.

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     
  19. solowookie

    solowookie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2001
    Posts:
    3,880
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wyoming
    60 degree's with a holly??? man are you that good, or that lucky??? LOL

    <font color=blue> Jeff - may the force be with you</font color=blue>
    <a target="_blank" href=http://coloradok5.com/gallery/Jeffs-Stuff>link to k5's</a>
     
  20. Pure Insanity

    Pure Insanity 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2001
    Posts:
    4,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dade City, Florida
    Must be that lucky, cuz it was a gnarly hill too! All rutted up and choppy. It was prob a 100-150 foot run up it. Its been a few yrs so I dont quite remember how long it was. There were several of us that ran Holleys up and down that hill.

    I get all the exercise I need pushing my luck! [​IMG]
     

Share This Page