Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

a 1974 Blazer, restored, should I buy it?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by stephenwsmith, Nov 12, 2002.

Hi...

I am new to the Blazer board, but my daughter is getting my trusty 1991 Jeep Cherokee (she just passed her driving test today), and I need to replace it. Have gotten setup for Historic insurance (have a 66 Plymouth Satellite Conv), and thought a 74ish Blazer would be nice..

1st.. What would a clean one cost

2nd.. Where would you look for a good one

3rd.. What would you look for on the truck, and what should
    I watch out for

4rth. How can I tighten the truck up a bit, so it would
    drive better, while looking close to stock. I would
    like to keep it looking as close to stock (with
    33/15 tires/wheels) Anything I should do right away?

Thanks for your help..

stephen smith from NJ /forums/images/graemlins/truck.gif

stephensmith@att.net

1. Silver84k5

Silver84k5 1/2 ton status

1st off, welcome to the board, 2nd, fill out your profile or else you are gonna get in trouble with "zakk" 3rd, it sounds like you dont plan on wheeling your blazer. I'd look by the steering box and make sure the frame isnt cracked, then id do a throuogh (sp?) inspection for rust. Obviously look for leaks and what not..... Have you already got your eyes on this 74 you are talking about?

2. Z3PR

Z3PR Banned