Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A/C – to fix or not to fix

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by spin2win, Aug 1, 2006.

1. spin2win

spin2win Registered Member

Ok, I have an ’89 V1500 (350 AT) and the A/C on my truck has never blown cold air in the 4 years I have had it, and frankly I didn’t care. It never gets that warm in Seattle anyhow. Now I’m moving from Seattle to Eastern Washington. Whole new ballgame. 95 degrees is hot enough for A/C to become useful to me.

I have no experience with A/C systems. Is it worth fixing? Any recommendations of what I should expect if I take this to a shop? How much should I expect to pay for R12? How much does the system need?

Would it be worth it to have a shop trouble shot the system and then do the work myself and take it back to them for a re-charge?

Should I say “F-it” and just by a big cooler full of beer to throw in the back? I’m willing to blow a couple hundie troubleshooting, and maybe 6 bills to fix.

I could really use some guidance.

Thanks all!

2. DumontsK5

DumontsK5 Registered Member

honestly i wouldnt even try to fix it! I live in VA and its hot and humid i disconnected my a/c cause is puts a hella strain on the engine! you get alot more out of the engine with it disconnected!

3. BAJA_BLAZER

BAJA_BLAZER 1/2 ton status Author

I like the beer idea, but even in WA it will get you in trouble. Air Conditioning is right up there next to the invention of the wheel. Hellya get it fixed! Shouldn't cost ya as much as $600 but if it did it would be worth every penny. You'll get better gas milage with the air on than with the windows open on a hot day :cool1: and if it's srtraining your engine then you got something else wrong:angry1: .

4. 1985_K5_Silverado

1985_K5_Silverado 1/2 ton status