Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A/C and heater motor questions

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by anjieandjohn, Jun 28, 2005.

1. anjieandjohn

anjieandjohn Registered Member

I am a lucky person....not only do I own a relatively decent vehicle in my 85 K5 but Uncle Sam pays me top dollar to spend my day looking through the thousands of posts on this website about how to make my before mentioned ride even better!!! :D Anyway, the real question is...my blower motor only works at one speed...high. Also, when switching between positions (i.e. defrost, vent, etc.), the idle tends to stay high until I turn it off or switch it from say defrost to heat. What are some of the things that could cause this to happen. I am still learning how to fix stuff (I just had a wonderful time replacing front leaf springs...damn metal bushing inserts!!)on my ride so forgive my ignorance.

2. pauly383

pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

Your switch could be bad , or a relay , of equipped . Their is only one wire actually entering the blower motor in the engine compartment , so if it works at all it would have to be a relay or switch problem .

The idle raises because when you turn a/c or def on , the compressor comes on and the idle compensator bumps the idle up so it doesn't stall .

3. Boondocks

Boondocks 1/2 ton status

My 72 K5 had a resistor pack mounted in the unit, so airflow would keep it cool. If those resistor coils are broken, then only high will work (no resistor).

I'm not sure if your year works the same.

4. diesel4me

diesel4me 1 ton status Premium Member

yup--resistor!