Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

a/c blower motor

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by chvymudin3388, Jun 29, 2006.

  1. chvymudin3388

    chvymudin3388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Posts:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    orange grove ,tx
    my a/c only works on high any lower positiona nd it doesnt work. and its not the resistor.
     
  2. cbbr

    cbbr 1 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Posts:
    14,681
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    High velocity, Low altitude
    I had the same problem yesterday. The switch was dirty. It looked clean enough, but a squirt of electrical cleaner later I am good to go.
     
  3. chvymudin3388

    chvymudin3388 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2005
    Posts:
    374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    orange grove ,tx
    naw that wasnt my problem lol i found its my relay to my ac the little box that is right before the motor screwed to the side of the a/c box
     
  4. r3r3r

    r3r3r Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Ca
    I had a similar problem on my 1991 (K5/1500 series) Blazer this morning. The fan would only run on low, and none of the switch settings seemed to be working. It worked fine last time I checked, but it doesn't get too hot here in Santa Cruz... Since we are preparing for a long trip (into the desert, etc.) I wanted to get the fan working again right away.

    So, I took everything apart (including the dash bezel to get to the fan switch in the heat/ac controls) and checked for worn and loose connections on all the electrical connectors. I checked the resistor, and even though it was rusty, all of the springs were intact.

    Then I cleaned all of the connections (relay/resistor/switch) and tested it again a few times. All 4 speeds working fine. I put it back together and I'm ready to roll. ;)
     
  5. blaznjon

    blaznjon 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2004
    Posts:
    153
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Seaside CA.
    Go ahead and replace the relay.Cleaning the contacts is only a temporary fix.
     

Share This Page