Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A/C & headers, anybody done this?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mlb79, Apr 22, 2002.

  1. mlb79

    mlb79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    evansville, IN
    I just installed a set of flowtech afterburner headers on an 81 3/4 ton 4x4. What a pain, and the instructions say use original factory bracket for the A/C, this in impossible without cutting the factory bracket as far as I can tell.

    Has anyone done this on a truck with the short A/C compressor. Pictures would be great. These things were the worst set of headers I have ever installed and I've done a few. Anybody with headers and A/C please help!!!
     
  2. Pugsley

    Pugsley 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2001
    Posts:
    3,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, Arizona
    Don't have any pics, but my 85 had Hedmans on it and there was no trouble with the A/C at all.
     
  3. 1986Blazer

    1986Blazer 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Posts:
    511
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Key West, FL - Southernmost Point
    Check out the bottom of my web page. There is a link to some pics of the mods I made to my A/C bracket with my Hedman Headers. Let me know if you have any questions. I used a plasma cutter to make the initial cuts then I used a grinder to smooth it all out.
     
  4. mlb79

    mlb79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    evansville, IN
    Thats what I thought! I had the bracket laid out so I could take it to work and torch it. I wanted somebody to verify what I thought before I butchered the bracket. Thanks for the replies!! The picture was perfect, exactly what I needed. Thanks again.
     
  5. stickshooter

    stickshooter Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Posts:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm putting mine on this afternoon, Dynomax headers. I know that these as well as Headman sell an additional part if you have A/C. I just put in a new longblock so everything is off my engine right now and should be relatively easy. I put the right side on last night and it just slipped in. I'll try to update you on my bracket situation tonight.
     
  6. txbluethunder

    txbluethunder 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2002
    Posts:
    835
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    i got the bracket too...can't really see what it would hook to on my a/c??? i just cut my existing bracket like everybody else and it worked great! im sending back the dynomax bracket and getting my money back.
     
  7. mlb79

    mlb79 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    evansville, IN
    The brackets I've seen that summit or Holley has appear to be for the long style compressors. I can see how that would work but I haven't seen anything for the short compressors. Cutting the factory bracket seems to be the best solution.
     
  8. RiceDaddy

    RiceDaddy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2002
    Posts:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tejas
    I just received a set of Dynomax headers yesterday. I have the long-style AC compressor, so I think I need the pre-fabbed bracket. Anyone have experience with header install with the bigger compressor?
     

Share This Page