Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A/C is giving me a headache

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by jimmyjack, Jun 20, 2004.

  1. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    OK awhikle back I posted about my ac working except on HI speed. Low and medium are fine, but this Arizona and they're not worth a crap. I replaced the switch, the relay, AND the fan. HI speed still doesn't work! Am I missing something here? My test light is less than desirable so it isn't helping me much. By the way, I ran a jumper from the battery straight to the fan (for hi speed). It runs great.
     
  2. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    Did you replace the "high speed" relay, or the other relay?
     
  3. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Musta just been the "other" relay, Where is the HI speed relay located?
     
  4. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    OK, I put two and dos together, got 5.........I figured I'd attack a bunch of wires thsat were all taped together. Traced a blue wire from the relay to a connector on the plastic box everything is attached to. I pulled the thing out and it was a "buss" setup with springs coiled at the end connecting the buss together. I worked everything all back and forth and sprayed some lectrakleen on it and now the hi speed is kickin ass!!! At least I know where it is now. Thanks for the help!
     
  5. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    Good to see you figured it out! It's been bugging you for a while now. /forums/images/graemlins/waytogo.gif
     
  6. 1-ton

    1-ton 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2004
    Posts:
    2,880
    Likes Received:
    159
    Location:
    Las Vegas, Nevada
    It you want a serious A/C for the hot Arizona desert sun, then try one of these on for size. These are built for medium size trucks, and cost about $1200. They mount on to the roof of your vehicle like a motor home A/C does. I live in Las Vegas, and want to get one for my 1-Ton 4X4 Crew Cab one day; although, I will have to cut a hole in my roof to install this self contained A/C unit. it will be worth it on a hot 123 degree summer day here in Las Vegas. Because this unit is self-contained, and comes with its own compressor, condenser, and receiver dryer, it will take off the load and heat A/C creates on an engine.

    [​IMG]
     
  7. 4xcrazy

    4xcrazy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2003
    Posts:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Olympia/Lacey, Washington
    I thought about installing one of those on the rear portion of the Burb, as i did the 134 conversion, and it doesn't work worth a crap, i wish i had never done the conversion.
     
  8. jimmyjack

    jimmyjack 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 11, 2000
    Posts:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson Az
    Thats sweeeeet! I didn't pay that much for my blazer 11 yrs ago tho! A little out of my money scale. /forums/images/graemlins/frown.gif
     

Share This Page