Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

a.c. not working

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by balzer, Aug 8, 2000.

1. balzer

balzer Registered Member

i have an 83 gmc jimmy and my a.c. isnt working, i know some about home air conditioners becuase i worked as a hand for an a.c. company this summer. my truck was parked for a few months while body work was being done and while it was being painted, the a.c. was not being used, before this it was working fine. i recently installed a cd player and ran a wire from the fuse box, from a fuse that was only on when the key was on. but i dont think that, that is the reason cuase the fuse is back in the hole all the way after i rapped a stripped wire around it. i am pretty sure that the compressor isnt coming on because i cant hear it come on, but the fan that blows air is running. do yall think that it could be a bad in-line hi-pressure switch. i dont think that the compressor is bad cuase it doesnt even try to come on, or it doesnt make any funny noises. well thats just what i know from home a.c.'s. but if it is bad, itll just have to stay that way.
    thanx

2. Can Can

Can Can Pusher Man Staff Member Super Moderator

If your compressor isn't engaging, chances are your compressor clutch needs to be replaced. Depending on the model, the part costs between $55-$65, and can be installed without taking off the compressor.

The other possibility is that you're low on refrigerant. Once the system gets below a certain pressure, the compressor won't engage. I assume that's the hi-pressure switch you're referring to.

3. jimmyjack

jimmyjack 1/2 ton status