Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A/C Question

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by 84mudmachine, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. 84mudmachine

    84mudmachine 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    Will an a/c system from a 79 chevy pickup work in a 84 blazer?
     
  2. pauly383

    pauly383 Daddy383 Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Posts:
    16,217
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Mesa , Arizona USA
    Probably if you transferred everything and everything. Compressors are different as well as bracketry and hoses for said compressors . /forums/images/graemlins/k5.gif
     
  3. 84mudmachine

    84mudmachine 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    It will be everything, the eveporator, condenser, accumilator, hoses, and brackets. My blazer had a/c at one time, will the electronics work? When I go buy a new compressor, should I ask for a 79 yr?
     
  4. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    I doubt it, the log style pump and hoses not to mention the low pressure sensor is different on on my 76' C30 compared to my 85K5.
     
  5. Blue85

    Blue85 Troll Premium Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2000
    Posts:
    9,073
    Likes Received:
    484
    Location:
    Grand Rapids area
    Those hoses probably won't hold R-134a very well if you wanted to run that.
     
  6. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
    [ QUOTE ]
    Those hoses probably won't hold R-134a very well if you wanted to run that.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    That's kind of a moot point since the hoses on 84 won't hold 134 either... /forums/images/graemlins/doah.gif
     
  7. 84mudmachine

    84mudmachine 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kansas
    I was thinking of using freeze-12.
     
  8. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,095
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    I was thinking of using freeze-12.

    [/ QUOTE ]
    It works pretty well and is non flammable. I ran it for a long time in my K5 and use it in 7 of our semis.
     

Share This Page