Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A LITTLE HELP!!! Alarm wont shut off

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by hi pinion, Jul 24, 2005.

  1. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Ok, i tried to start up the blazer today, it has an alarm , and it worked fine 2-3 months ago, and has been working fine( the alarm) . So i connect the batt charger on it, and the batt was fully dead, the alarm starts going off, i am clicking my remote at the thing, it wont stop going off.

    nothing,,,:doah:

    The batt was really dead, its been sitting for a while, so, could the batt just be too low to power the alarm to shut off? Its been a great alarm .Im thinking the batt was to dead , and it wouldnt shut the thing off mabey? The batteries in my remote work good, they are newer, i have the battery on a deep charge, and im trying it tommorow with a fully charged battery.

    If the charged battery dosent do it though, what then? :doah:

    Has anyone had this before?
     
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2005
  2. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Is there no one?? :crazy:
     
  3. fordeater

    fordeater 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2004
    Posts:
    1,402
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Missoula, Montana
    does it have a valet switch? Most alarms i've seen have a button you push while the key is in the on position and it shuts the alarm off
     
  4. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    I dont think so. I dont know :doah: where would that be at? Its an older style alarm , it just has 2 buttons on the control. I dont know if the dead batt had something to do with it or not, but its charging right now. It was sitting for a whiile . I hope the charged batt does the trick, but, i dont know what to do if it dosent stop the problem tomorrow. :doah:
     
  5. justhorsinaround

    justhorsinaround 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2003
    Posts:
    6,798
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northerish Phoenix, Az
    Not for nuthin but is the battery dead in the remote?
     
  6. redneckdude

    redneckdude 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2004
    Posts:
    578
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Augusta, GA
    Im pretty sure with mine, its hard to get teh remote to kill the alarm if the batt is about dead...i got the same old deal like urs, 2 button remote, nothing fancy, just old...but mine does have a valet switch at the lower dash close to the e-brake release handle. Trickle charge the batt and see what it does...you should also be able to pull the power or ground wire for the alarm fairly easy...
     
  7. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Nope, the light goes on strong when the button is pushed . I replaced them a while back.
     
  8. scrappy88

    scrappy88 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2003
    Posts:
    314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Loveland, CO
    Alarms do some really strange things when the battery is low. I even had one go off while starting the car when the battery was low. Just disconnect the battery and charge it up. When you reconnect it the alarm will probably go off again but it should shut off with the remote if the battery is charged.
     
  9. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Its some python alarm man :haha: its like the atari of alarms lol :haha: its like a wannabe viper alarm :haha: Is it a little black button? if so, i think i have one. But, why would they put a button there to turn the alarm off, lol? That dosent make any sense. :doah: :haha:
     
  10. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**

    Thats some refressing news rigrt there. :D
     
  11. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    Alarms are for pussys who can't fight :D :haha: :p:
     
  12. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Have you decided on a 10 Coce can lift? Or a 12 Coke can lift yet? :D
     
  13. Corey 78K5

    Corey 78K5 1 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    13,055
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Humboldt County, CA
    :confused: :confused: :confused:
     
  14. k5-newbie

    k5-newbie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Posts:
    399
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Huntsville, Texas
    Hi Pinion, the valet switch is there in case you take it in for service or something goes wrong with the alarm...to get it to go into valet, turn the ignition switch on (not started) and hold the button down until the alarm stops going of and the LED lights up constantly instead of blinking.

    Hope this helps.
     
  15. hi pinion

    hi pinion 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Posts:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    **PLUMBING THE WORLD**
    Thanks guys, put in a new battery, and everything is working fine. :D
     

Share This Page