Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

A scarry thought

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by 2cocky, Oct 26, 2001.

1. 2cocky

2cocky Registered Member

I was pulling the rear carpet to get ready for hurculining the interior this morning. When I got to the front drivers seat I pulled off the seat belt mounts so I could remove the side trim panels. Well when I went to remove the bottom attach bolt for the seat belt the whole thing pulled out of the metal!! I am a Firefighter and EMT and the tought of a chunck of rusted metal ripping acrost my adomond when Joe Yuppie in his Excersion pulls out in front of me scares the hell out of me! Any ways I'm looking for ideas on how to fix this. The whole panel where the lower mount attaches is rusted out. Is there a way to repair this area with enuf strength to attach the seat belt to? Or should I just use this as an excuse to get a roll bar installed?
    Sorry for being long winded. Let me know what you guys think.
    Scott

OOOPS....I THINK I JUST RAN OVER YOUR JEEP THING!!!!!

2. J.R.

J.R. Guest

i would go with the roll bar. as you know it's far safer and it looks soooo cool!! but be sure to fix the rusted area the right way or you will be doing the job all over again in a few years.

BIG BLOCK MAN
    "MORE POWER"!!

3. Emmettology 101

Emmettology 101 3/4 ton status

Repair the section and then get a roll cage.. The cage is far safer in a roll pluss you can get 5 point harnesses and that you hold you still more in a crash...

Mike

<font color=green>"1024x768x256... Sounds like one mean woman."</font color=green>

<a target="_blank" href=http://www.geocities.com/emmettology101>www.geocities.com/emmettology101</a>

4. 2cocky

2cocky Registered Member