Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

?? about clocking a 208

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by rick88blaze, Aug 7, 2005.

  1. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    I did a search on this, but couldn't get the answer I wanted.

    I changed out my tranny last weekend and notice that the 208 has a symmetrical bolt patter where it bolts to the adaptor to the tranny. I was wondering if I could just spin the t-case up one hole to gain some ground clearance or if I will need a clocking ring like the 241 needs to clock it. I don't mind banging on the floor to make sure it clears. I want to try and find out by this Thursday because I plan on taking out my t-case to split it open and reseal it. (it leaks like mad right now.) :D

    Thanks in advance,
    Rick
     
  2. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    It looks symetrical, but it is not. You will have to use a clocking ring.
     
  3. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    cool, thanks
     
  4. big83chevy4x4

    big83chevy4x4 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2002
    Posts:
    6,587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sheridan, Michigan
    yes the pattern is non-symetrical. there is 1, maybe 2 holes are are off compared to the others. also, if you go up 1 hole, it will be clocked up and not flat.
     
  5. sledheadak

    sledheadak 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Posts:
    1,283
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    anchorage,alaska
    who makes a clocking ring for the 208?
     
  6. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    greatlakes offroad. check over on pirate or ebay.
     
  7. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    Yep, Great Lakes Offroad..... when you're done it will look like this....

    [​IMG]
     
  8. rick88blaze

    rick88blaze 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2003
    Posts:
    2,342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Knob Noster, Mo.
    Do any of you have a link for Great Lakes Offroad? I couldn't find one.

    Also, I guess I'll have to wait to clock my t-case up then. I need to get this leak fixed. oh well, I want to try to change it out next year for a 241 later with a SYE kit anyways.

    Thanks again,

    Rick
     
  9. K5Kell

    K5Kell Guest

    Sorry to intrude, but is there any consequences to adding that much more fluid to the t-case? Otherwise it looks like that might be a future mod.
    -Kell-
     
  10. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    The clocking ring works for the 241 too! So, just get one and do the 241 swap later like you said....

    Fluid is the least of your worries when choosing to clock your t/c. More importantly, you will need to address floor clearance and driveshaft angles. I am using the same amount of fluid as before with no worries.
     
  11. smokkey1

    smokkey1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Posts:
    2,677
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    doug, what king of shaft are you using up front? and how much lift? thanks
     
  12. DougK20

    DougK20 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2003
    Posts:
    384
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Boise, ID
    I have a thick pack of 52" springs w/ zero-rate putting me around 6" of lift.

    You already know what shaft I'm runnin' Smokey..... remember this?

    Driveshaft thread
     

Share This Page