Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

AC compressor for an air compressor?

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by mich89k5, Nov 8, 2000.

  1. mich89k5

    mich89k5 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2000
    Posts:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    I can't remember if it was on this forum or in a magazine that I read, but I'm wondering if it's possible to convert my AC compressor to an onboard air compressor. It would be great if you had any pictures, but written details will work of course. I recently had my AC compressor replaced because the pulley froze up and snapped my belt. The AC never worked when I bought it last Sept. and I'm not really interested in having AC. I hooked up the compressor, but made sure not to hook up the electrical connection to it since it has no refridgerant or oil in it to lubricate. So basically all i'm using it for is for the pulley. I tried to find a dumby pulley, but I was kind of pressed for time since it broke down on the highway 60 miles from home. Anyway, I'm hoping the fact that I haven't filled it with anything might make it easier to convert to an air compressor. Any ideas?
     
  2. Bruiser

    Bruiser 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    May 21, 2000
    Posts:
    320
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Caldwell,Idaho
    Here is a link to instructions on how to do it, pretty easy, I am going to do it eventually when Iget some more money.
    http://www.geocities.com/corey_perez/onboardair.htm

    Vincent Michels
    1978 Blazer
    Bruiser (Frost white/Black top/ Light Blue interior)
     
  3. BlazerGuy

    BlazerGuy 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2000
    Posts:
    9,206
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    abcde
  4. BUDDY

    BUDDY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midland, TX
  5. shum1

    shum1 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2000
    Posts:
    270
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UTAH
    Can you run one of these and your ac in on the same engine?
     
  6. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    That is a great question. I want to do this on my 406, as I have the serpentine belt setup and AN OPEN AIR-PUMP SPOT ON THE MOUNT. (You can see what I mean on my website on the TPI 406 page). Gotta figure out if one of the "shorty" air conditioning compressors will fit in that slot, and if so I am set.


    <font color=black>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com
     
  7. BUDDY

    BUDDY 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2000
    Posts:
    744
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Midland, TX
    Here's a dual setup:

    http://uscom.com/~lobel/dblpump.html

    If you look through all of those links and these:

    http://\http://www.onboardair.com/

    you should be able to figure out how to get on board air on just about any vehicle. It just takes a little research and some planning.

    HTH,

    Buddy



    I've got my dream truck and it's a 72 K-5 that is getting there!!
     
  8. K5Junkie

    K5Junkie 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Posts:
    499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Gulfport, MS
    I agree with Blazzin. I have that same setup, but i don't know how the belt would run? I would like to use that empty space where the smog pump is suppose to go but i would also like to run the second compressor off it's own belt. maybe someone has done this before?

    http://k5junkie.coloradok5.com/
     
  9. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    The original belt would fit, considering the pump was once in there. We gotta check into this!!!!!!

    <font color=black>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com
     
  10. edeslaur

    edeslaur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Has anyone considered that Chevrolet engines, even the gas-powered ones, were put in an awful lot of trucks that used air brakes and that the brackets, compressors, etc. are likely readily available in some HD truck wrecking yard?

    When I get around to adding air, that's where I'm going to start my research...

    Eric D
    88 K30 Blazer
     
  11. BurbinOR

    BurbinOR 3/4 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2000
    Posts:
    5,829
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon
    Hey Eric, you must be the same guy on bushhackers, correct? Where in Portlandia do ya live, I am in Gresham.



    <font color=black>'79 - 406 TPI -<font color=orange> K5#5 - <font color=blue>See it at---&gt;http://www.blazzinor.coloradok5.com
     
  12. edeslaur

    edeslaur Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2000
    Posts:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    I live in OR City, but work in Portland.
    Yep, I'm the bushhacker with the red Blazer. :-)

    ERic D
     

Share This Page