Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

ac problem.. need help

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by tagurit, Jun 25, 2002.

  1. tagurit

    tagurit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nth E. Louisiana
    Got an 81 and the ac just stopped working about a month ago. If I try to switch it on, two fuses blow on the panel, 1 for the heat, 1 for the ac. I replaced the left hand side switch on the control panel but it didn't fix it.

    I'm pretty sure the compressor is still working because before the fuses started blowing everything was cold... just no air was blowing out of the vents.

    Need some clues as to what I might check next (and where that part might be located on the truck). I'm not that good at finding things on my own, haha.

    Thanks.
     
  2. StonerK5

    StonerK5 1/2 ton status

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    183
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix Arizona
    AC is for wimps /forums/images/icons/cool.gif /forums/images/icons/grin.gif , try the 3/40 method. Works for me, and I live in AZ /forums/images/icons/ooo.gif
     
  3. chevyfumes

    chevyfumes Court jester

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Posts:
    38,584
    Likes Received:
    266
    Location:
    Watch for the muzzleflash!
    </font><blockquote><font class="small">In reply to:</font><hr />
    try the 3/40 method. Works for me

    [/ QUOTE ]
    Whats that, stuff 3 40oz beer bottles down your pants.... /forums/images/icons/tongue.gif
     
  4. GMMANIAC

    GMMANIAC Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2002
    Posts:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx.
    You might want to look at the wire going to the compressor and make sure it's not grounding out. Also check the blower motor, sometimes they will draw too many amps for the fuse to handle. If the fuse is blowing insantly then I would guess an electrical short. You should check the wiring by the accumulator for shorts.
     
  5. tagurit

    tagurit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2002
    Posts:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nth E. Louisiana
    Any idea what I'll spend on that wiring? The entire section doesn't look to be in the best of shape. Guess I'll price the wiring from the compressor to the accum

    And yes it blows the fuse as soon as the ac is turned on. I can hear the compressor click once and that's it.

    And thank you, GMMANIAC, for giving a straight answer.
     

Share This Page