Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

AC troubleshooting questions......

Discussion in '1973-1991 K5 Blazer | Truck | Suburban' started by Bushwhacker, Jun 18, 2004.

  1. Bushwhacker

    Bushwhacker 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Posts:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail,North Carolina
    charged up the ac last night. I have had this problem before I charged it though. Anyway the fan will not blow on the highest setting. It cuts out completely. The other three settings work fine. I have tried 2 new fan switches( 1 was a AC Delco), 2 relays ( 1 AC Delco also) still no high fan! /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif Anybody tell me where to look for the problem? Anybody had this happen? Let me know, cause its hot as a mofo and I would like to have my air!! Thanks!! /forums/images/graemlins/thumb.gif

    Clay
     
  2. Bushwhacker

    Bushwhacker 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Posts:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail,North Carolina
    ttt...
    update: new blower motor. it started working on the way home from picking up the new blower motor. Go figure! /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif Well today I fired it up and what do ya know, no hi fan. again. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif Now I am back where I started. I know someone still has AC on their rig!! Anyone run into this problem?? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

    Thanks,
    Clay
     
  3. rjfguitar

    rjfguitar 3/4 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2002
    Posts:
    9,097
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    california
    [ QUOTE ]
    ttt...
    update: new blower motor. it started working on the way home from picking up the new blower motor. Go figure! /forums/images/graemlins/confused.gif Well today I fired it up and what do ya know, no hi fan. again. /forums/images/graemlins/angryfire.gif Now I am back where I started. I know someone still has AC on their rig!! Anyone run into this problem?? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif

    Thanks,
    Clay

    [/ QUOTE ]GO ahead and replace the blower motor anyway, they are only like $20. Then see what it does.
     
  4. Bushwhacker

    Bushwhacker 1/2 ton status GMOTM Winner

    Joined:
    May 13, 2002
    Posts:
    796
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indian Trail,North Carolina
    yep did that. I was on the way home with a new one and decided to turn it on and it worked. But when I got home I put the new blower motor in anyway. It worked fine. its been a couple days and today I tried it and no worky on high again. Where to look next? /forums/images/graemlins/1zhelp.gif /forums/images/graemlins/dunno.gif

    Clay
     
  5. azblazor

    azblazor 1/2 ton status Premium Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2001
    Posts:
    1,953
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona, Phoenix area
    There is a resistor setup that determines the voltage/speed through the switch position. Look at that or the connections between.
     

Share This Page