Dismiss Notice

Welcome To CK5!

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon.

Score a FREE t-shirt and membership sticker when you sign up for a Premium Membership and choose the recurring plan.

Acetylene torches suggestions?

Discussion in 'The Garage' started by CyberSniper, May 25, 2004.

1. CyberSniper

CyberSniper 1/2 ton status Premium Member

I'm in the market for a set of acetylene torches. I have limited experience with them. I figure if I buy a decent set and take care of them they'll last me a lifetime. My Dad has a set from the 70s that he still uses today (newer hose, of course). But, alas, I'm pretty clueless outside of the fact that I want name-brand torches and will probably go with Victor since I can easily get parts for them.

I don't plan on making a living with these torches, they'd be for periodic use. I don't even know if they'd be used enough to be considered "hobbyist" type of use. Aside from cutting up vehicles to haul to the scrap yard it'd probably be used mainly for heating things up and maybe once in a while for cutting metal. I'm talking about maybe using a set of 80CF tanks once a year except when I cut up a vehicle (maybe once a year).

It'll also be used for periodic brazing. I've only used a cutting tip for brazing so I suspect a welding tip would be mighty nice.

Before you say to use MAPP for heating stuff up... I've got MAPP and it doesn't hold a candle to acetylene. When I want heat, I want a lot of heat fast enough to expand the metal before conduction heats up the other piece of metal. While MAPP beats the hell out of regular propane torches it doesn't quite hack it. Oxygen-propane doesn't hack it either and it definitely won't save me any money.